close
Navigation
Categories
Signed Books - Save 50%
  
CCCU Smartcards are GO!
In the Bookshop
Secure Payments
 
 
Payment Method
 
 

Novels & Short Stories

View as
Sort by
Display per page

Libertie

Paperback, 07/04/2022, £8.99
£8.09
From the critically acclaimed and Whiting Award-winning author of We Love You, Charlie Freeman comes a book about what freedom actually means - and where to find it.

Old Wives' Tale

Paperback, 31/05/2007, £12.99
£11.69
Affirms the integrity of ordinary lives as it tells the story of the Baines sisters. This work traces the sisters' lives from childhood in their father's drapery shop in provincial Bursley, England, during the mid-Victorian era, through their married lives, to the modern industrial age, when they are reunited as old women.

The Exhibitionist

Hardback, 17/03/2022, £16.99
£15.29
The fifth novel from Man Booker-longlisted and twice-longlisted Women's Prize author Charlotte Mendelson.

Boyfriends and Girlfriends

7, 08/01/1996, £6.99
£6.29
A collection of short stories set mainly in Scotland. They feature the foibles of characters at all levels of society, who show an independent mind more concerned with behaviour and incident than national virtues. The award-winning author's other books include "Secret Villages".

Oligarchy

Paperback, 01/04/2021, £8.99
£8.09
Power, privilege and peer pressure - the hilarious new novel from the bestselling author of The End of Mr. Y

Black Moth

Hardback, 26/08/2021, £12.99
£11.69
. Utter, immersive escapism' SOPHIE KINSELLA ______________________________ Diana Beauleigh is caught between two men. Seven long years ago, Jack Carstares, the Earl of Wyncham, sacrificed his honour for his brother and has been in exile ever since.

Life's Little Ironies

7, 10/07/2008, £7.99
£7.19

Stars are Fire

Paperback, 19/04/2018, £8.99
£8.09
Anita Shreve's brilliant new novel - for fans of Anne Tyler and Maggie O'Farrell.

Water Cure

Paperback, 25/04/2019, £8.99
£8.09

What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours

Paperback, 09/02/2017, £9.99
£8.99
A remarkable collection of short stories from one of our most gifted writers, Helen Oyeyemi.

Life in the Country

Paperback, 20/09/2018, £5.99
£5.39
Also including the well-known stories `She-Wolf' and `Foxfur', A Life in the Country captures, in an objective, non-judgemental prose, the difficult conditions and personal struggles of the peasant class in his native Sicily at the turn of the twentieth century.

A Golden Age

Paperback, 06/02/2020, £8.99
£8.09
A mother struggles to protect her children as Bangladesh fights for independence; winner of the Commonwealth Writers' Prize and shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award

The Book of Sand

Hardback, 06/01/2022, £12.99
£11.69

This Place is Still Beautiful

Paperback, 09/06/2022, £7.99
£7.19

Hark

Paperback, 06/02/2020, £8.99
£8.09
A riotous novel of awkward believers, floundering marriages and our maladjusted 21st century, from one of America's sharpest satirists - for fans of Gary Shteyngart, Paul Murray and Larry David.

Porpoise

Paperback, 16/04/2020, £8.99
£8.09
Her favourite tales are those that conjure ancient worlds - of angry gods and heroic mortals, one of whom will some day come to her rescue.Soon, she will forget where the page ends and her mind begins. 'A full-throttle blast of storytelling mastery' Max Porter

Heart of Darkness

Paperback, 05/03/1995, £2.99
£2.69
A tale of horror, set in the Congo during the period of rapid colonial expansion in the 19th century. The story deals with the highly disturbing effects of economic, social and political exploitation of European and African societies and the cataclysmic behaviour this induced in some individuals.

Scorpion's Head

Paperback, 07/10/2021, £9.99
£8.99
Something bad happened to that child.And it was because of you.

Redder Days

Paperback, 13/01/2022, £8.99
£8.09

Wrestliana

Paperback, 03/05/2018, £9.99
£8.99

How Long 'til Black Future Month?

Paperback, 27/11/2018, £8.99
£8.09
Triple Hugo Award-winning and New York Times bestselling author N. K. Jemisin sharply examines modern society in her first short story collection

Noise

Hardback, 05/08/2021, £20.00
£18.00
Terror has a new sound . Hood. A team of elite government investigators are sent to research the fallout and the girls - why did only they survive? - but with conflicting objectives. Dr Chan and Lieutenant Colonel Fraser are caught between the perpetrators of the threat - and those who have the power to resist.

My Sister, the Serial Killer

Hardback, 26/10/2018, £12.99
£11.69
A blackly comic novel about lies, love, Lagos, and how blood is thicker - and more difficult to get out of the carpet - than water.

Once and Future Witches: The spellbinding bestseller

Paperback, 07/10/2021, £9.99
£8.99
From the author of The Ten Thousand Doors of January comes this lush, magical work of speculative fiction that will appeal to fans of The Night Circus, The Power and The Binding.

Penguin Book of Italian Short Stories

Paperback, 05/03/2020, £12.99
£11.69

A Dry Spell

Paperback, 01/03/2001, £8.99
£8.09
In 1976, four students took a trip to the desert. Now the repercussions of the fateful summer are coming back to haunt them. As for Nina, she's having enough trouble with her son, James. But when Hugo, long-forgotten agent of misfortune, threatens to pay them all a visit, disaster seems unavoidable.

Tenderness

Paperback, 04/08/2022, £9.99
£8.99

Nana 2ed

Paperback, 26/03/2020, £9.99
£8.99
Nana opens in 1867, the year of the World Fair, when Paris, thronged by a cosmopolitan elite, was la Ville Lumiere, a perfect victim for Zola's scathing denunciation of hypocrisy and fin-de-siecle moral corruption.

Memorial

Hardback, 07/01/2021, £14.99
£13.49
The stellar debut novel of two young men falling in and out of love, from the winner of the Dylan Thomas Prize 2020.

Faces in the Water

Paperback, 03/05/2018, £9.99
£8.99
'One of the most impressive accounts of madness to be found in literature ... A masterpiece' Anita Brookner Published as part of a beautifully designed series to mark the 40th anniversary of the Virago Modern Classics.

Assassin's Creed: Where's the Assassin?

Hardback, 07/09/2021, £9.99
£8.99
This gorgeous puzzle book for Assassin's Creed fans of all ages will delight the eyes, challenge the mind, and help fans to hone their assassin observation skills.

Scorn: The Wittiest and Wickedest Insults in Human History

Paperback, 02/11/2017, £9.99
£8.99
A totally up-to-date compendium of the sharpest, wittiest and downright rudest insults in human history

Secret Pilgrim: The Smiley Collection

Paperback, 27/02/2020, £7.99
£7.19

Dr Fischer of Geneva

Paperback, 02/09/1999, £8.99
£8.09
'Manages to say more about love, hate, happiness, grief, immortality, greed and the disgustingly rich than most contemporary English novels three times the length' The Times Doctor Fischer despises the human race.

Exiles

Paperback, 10/12/2020, £8.99
£8.09
James Joyce's only surviving play has divided Joyceans for a century. Illuminating the themes of performance that are so prominent throughout Joyce's fiction, Exiles sees Joyce staking his claim definitively within the European theatrical tradition.

Shipwrecks

Paperback, 02/11/2017, £9.99
£8.99
An evocative historical novel with a sting in the tail, Shipwrecks is a powerful and deeply moving Japanese classic, introduced by David Mitchell

Expo Files

Paperback, 29/03/2012, £12.99
£11.69
Another side of Stieg Larsson - incisive articles and texts by the author of the Millennium Trilogy.

A Simple Wish

Hardback, 28/10/2021, £12.99
£11.69
At just fifteen, homeless and alone Ruby is relieved when a kindly stranger named Mrs Bamber takes pity on her and welcomes her into her home. But soon, Ruby learns Mrs Bamber is not as generous as she first seemed - she forces Ruby into a life of crime as a jewel thief in Birmingham's jewellery quarter.

Strange Flowers

Paperback, 13/05/2021, £8.99
£8.09

Upgrade

Hardback, 07/07/2022, £16.99
£15.29
A mind-bending thriller filled with twists and turns from Blake Crouch, author of the bestselling Dark Matter and Recursion.

Gina's Therapy

Paperback, 08/04/2020, £10.99
£8.99
Looking back, Gina's life inevitably divides into before and after, like some predictable diet advert. As she pinpointed the day her world began to shift, wondering if she knew, subconsciously, that something significant was afoot.

Elephant

Paperback, 06/05/2010, £9.99
£8.99
Offers a collection of short stories that satirizes the life in Poland under a totalitarian regime.

Darkest evening

Hardback, 03/09/2020, £18.99
£17.09
The ninth novel in the Vera Stanhope series from the Sunday Times bestseller Ann Cleeves; now a major TV series from ITV.

Passenger

Hardback, 01/04/2021, £14.99
£13.49

The BBC National Short Story Award 2020

Paperback, 14/09/2020, £7.99
£7.19
Now celebrating its fifteenth year, the BBC Award is one of the most prestigious for a single short story, with previous alumni including Zadie Smith, Hilary Mantel and Mark Haddon.

I, Mona Lisa

Hardback, 10/02/2022, £14.99
£13.49
Over the centuries, few could hear her voice, but now she is ready to tell her own story, in her own words - a tale of rivalry, murder and heartbreak. I, Mona Lisa is a deliciously vivid, compulsive and illuminating story about the lost and forgotten women throughout history.

Diving for Pearls

Paperback, 07/04/2022, £8.99
£8.09

Parisian

Paperback, 06/02/2020, £9.99
£8.99
This novel tells that kind of joyful story, and evokes that kind of joy in the reader' Jonathan Safran Foer Midhat Kamal - dreamer, romantic, aesthete - leaves Palestine in 1914 to study medicine in France, under the tutelage of Dr Molineu.
Canterbury Festival 2022
  Canterbury Festival
Twitter