close
Navigation
Categories

Novels & Short Stories

View as
Sort by
Display per page

Time in Rome

Paperback, 06/03/2003, £9.99
£8.99
Presenting an account of a time spent in Rome, the author describes its history, its architecture, its atmosphere, and the famous classical sites in the city.

Little Girls

Paperback, 27/05/1999, £9.99
£8.99
In 1914 they had been eleven years old; three little girls at St Agatha's, a day school on the South Coast. Fifty years later, Dinah, beautiful as ever, advertises in the national newspapers to find the other two - Clare, now established with a successful business, and Sheila, a married woman, glossy, chic and correct.

Bowen's Court: &, Seven Winters : Memories of a Dublin Childhood

Paperback, 27/05/1999, £10.99
£9.89
Describes the history of one Anglo-Irish family in County Cork from the Cromwellian settlement until 1959, when Elizabeth Bowen was forced to sell the family house she loved.

Virginia Woolf

Paperback, 02/10/1997, £14.99
£13.49
A biography of Virginia Woolf which moves freely between a detailed life-story and attempts to understand significant questions. She is presented as occupying a distinct and even uneasy position within the Bloomsbury Set, and also as a radically sceptical, subversive, courageous feminist.

Virginia Woolf

Paperback, 18/02/2013, £9.95
£8.96
Weaving together the life and work of Virginia Woolf, this book serves as an introduction to both. Following the chronology of Woolfs life, it gives due prominence to her dazzlingly inventive essays, traces the contentious course of her afterlife and shows why, seventy years after her death.

Essays of Virginia Woolf: 1929 - 1932

Hardback, 15/01/2009, £30.00
£27.00
Fiction was the core of Virginia Woolf's work. But she took her essay writing very seriously, spending a great deal of time on each essay and finding they provided a refreshing diversion from fiction. Her essays informed her fiction, and vice versa. This title shows her thinking about the possibility of poeticising the novel.

Ballad Tales: An Anthology of British Ballads Retold

Paperback, 05/06/2017, £9.99
£8.99
An innovative collection of folk ballads re-told by professional storytellers. In association with the Society of Storytelling

Sentimental Journey and Continuation of the "Bramine's Journal

Hardback, 31/05/2002, £68.95
£62.06
This sixth volume of the Florida Edition of the Works of Laurence Sterne contains scholarly editions of two works of Sterne's last year of life: "A Sentimental Journey" and "Continuation of the Bramine's Journal". The works are presented as clean texts, with all scholarly apparatus at the end.

Little Town Where Time Stood Still,

Paperback, 15/06/2016, £7.99
£7.19

Cutting It Short

Paperback, 15/06/2017, £7.99
£7.19

Beguiled

Paperback, 22/06/2017, £8.99
£8.09

Yurei: The Japanese Ghost

Hardback, 25/08/2015, £17.99
£16.19
An eerie yet insightful exploration into the phenomenon of yurei, or Japanese ghosts, both past and present.

High Places

Hardback, 05/05/2016, £18.99
£17.09
A scintillating story collection by the young Australian author of the Guardian First Book Award-shortlisted novel The Night Guest, described as 'glittering' (Independent), 'stunning' (Sunday Express), 'beautiful' (Daily Mail) and 'wonderfully devious' (Marie Claire).

Dear Mr. M

Paperback, 29/06/2017, £8.99
£8.09
The thrilling, hair-raising new novel from Herman Koch, the New York Times bestselling author of The Dinner and Summer House with Swimming Pool

Notes of a Crocodile

Paperback, 02/05/2017, £11.99
£10.79

Two Stories

Hardback, 22/06/2017, £8.99
£8.09
Virginia Woolf was one of the most influential writers of the twentieth century. With her husband, she started the Hogarth Press in 1917. Celebrating the 100th anniversary of 'Publication No 1', this edition takes the original text of Virginia's story, 'The Mark on the Wall' and pairs it with a new story, 'St Brides Bay', by Mark Haddon.

Case of Charles Dexter Ward

Paperback, 01/12/2016, £10.00
£9.00
First published in 1941 and set aginst the rich canvas of New England history, this is American author H. P. Lovecraft's exploration of a mind destroyed by an obsession with an ancestor, a reputed necromancer.

My Son, My Son

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
First published in 1938, MY SON, MY SON is bestselling British author Howard Spring's multigenerational portrait of a relationship between father and son.

Heaven's My Destination

Paperback, 08/09/2016, £10.00
£9.00
First published in 1935, HEAVEN'S MY DESTINATION is American author and dramatist Thornton Wilder's masterful portrayal of the power of an outsider's viewpoint.

Authentic Death of Hendry Jones

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
A stark and violent exploration of an American myth, this is a novel about the doomed gunslinger Billy the Kid.

History of a Town

Paperback, 08/09/2016, £10.00
£9.00
One of the major satirical novels of modern Russia, Saltykov-Schedrin's hilarious chronicle is a harch criticism of Tsarist Russia, strangely pertinent to today.

Man on a Donkey

Paperback, 01/12/2016, £10.00
£9.00
An enthralling account of Henry VIII's controversial dissolution of the monasteries.

Council of Egypt

Paperback, 01/12/2016, £10.00
£9.00
A tale of power, corruption and forgery set in a Sicily ripe for reform.

Jest of God

Paperback, 09/03/2017, £10.00
£9.00
A duty-ridden woman dreams of breaking free from her small-town chains.

Paradise Valley

Hardback, 25/07/2017, £18.99
£17.09
Investigator Cassie Dewell's three-year hunt for the serial killer known as 'The Lizard King' comes to a climax.

Company K

Paperback, 09/03/2017, £10.00
£9.00
An unflinching portrait of a US Marine company in WWI, written by a decorated army hero.

Now in November

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
First published in 1934, NOW IN NOVEMBER is American author Josephine W. Johnson's lyrical and an indelible portrait of the Depression and Dust Bowl years in America.

Lost Europeans

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
First published in 1960, THE LOST EUROPEANS is British author Emanuel Litvinoff's story of an inverse pilgrimage: that of a Jewish man to a resurgent, post-war Berlin.

Bosnian Chronicle

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
First published in 1945, this is Bosnian author Ivo Andric's saga of turbulent imperial forces played out through the fates of two men in a remote outpost of the Ottoman Empire.

Man Who Loved Children

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
Australian novelist Christina Stead's 1940 novel about the dysfunctional Pollitt family.

Delta Wedding

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
First published in 1946, DELTA WEDDING is legendary American author Eudora Welty's portrait of family life in the American South during the 1920s.

Day of Judgment

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
Around the turn of the twentieth century, in the isolated Sardinian town of Nuoro, the aristocratic notary Don Sebastiano Sanna reflects on his life, his family's history and the fortunes of this provincial backwater where he has lived out his days.

Nebuly Coat

Paperback, 01/12/2016, £10.00
£9.00
A young architect is sent to a remote town to supervise the restoration of its Minster.

Hungry Grass

Paperback, 08/09/2016, £10.00
£9.00
A quiet, engaging novel about the death of a priest in 1950s Ireland and a world on the cusp of change.

Stone Angel

Paperback, 08/09/2016, £10.00
£9.00
As she approaches her death, Hagar Shipley - an irascible, independent nonagenarian - rages against the dying of the light.

Ice Saints

Paperback, 04/05/2017, £10.00
£9.00
An award-winning novel depicting life in Poland behind the Iron Curtain.

South Wind

Paperback, 09/03/2017, £12.00
£10.80
An Anglican bishop, on recuperative leave from his African diocese, alights at the island of Nepthene for a short stay on passage to England, and is soon caught in the midst of a wild and exuberant cast of fellow visitors and residents.

Pachinko

Paperback, 03/08/2017, £8.99
£8.09
A victorian epic transplanted to Japan, following a Korean family of immigrants through eight decades and four generations.

Letty Fox: Her Luck

Paperback, 04/05/2017, £14.00
£12.60
Letty Fox talks us through her search for marital bliss in 1930s New York and London.

Langrishe, Go Down

Paperback, 13/07/2017, £10.00
£9.00
Set against the backdrop of 1930s Europe, Higgin's classic novel depicts the demise of the old order of power in Ireland.

Frankenstein 3ed

Paperback, 06/04/2016, £18.99

War

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £8.99
£8.09

Fear

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £8.99
£8.09

Innocence

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £8.99
£8.09

Trickery

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £8.99
£8.09

Cut Short

Paperback, 30/06/2018, £8.99
£8.09

Ernesto

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £10.00
£9.00
A coming-of-age story set in fin de siecle Trieste.

Free Food for Millionaires

Paperback, 01/08/2017, £14.99
£13.49
A young woman is torn between her Korean heritage and American upbringing. Min Jin Lee's acclaimed debut novel.

Bogmail

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £8.99
£8.09
A slice of crazed, rural, Irish gothic: the tale of murder in a small Irish village in Donegal, Bogmail is a classic of modern Irish literature.

City of Circles

Hardback, 08/08/2017, £17.99
£16.19
A magical love story between two circus performers, for fans of Angela Carter and Erin Morgenstern by Costa-shortlisted author Jess Richards.
Twitter
Secure Payments
 
 
Payment Method