close
Navigation
Categories
Signed Books - Save 50%
  
Secure Payments
 
 
Payment Method
 
 

Novels & Short Stories

View as
Sort by
Display per page

Stars are Fire

Paperback, 19/04/2018, £8.99
£8.09
Anita Shreve's brilliant new novel - for fans of Anne Tyler and Maggie O'Farrell.

Trouble with Lichen

Paperback, 07/08/2008, £8.99
£8.09
Francis and Diana, two scientists investigating a lichen, discover it has a remarkable property: it retards the aging process. Francis, realising the implications for the world of a youthful, wealthy elite, wants to keep it secret, but Diana sees an opportunity to overturn the male status quo by using the lichen to inspire a feminist revolution.

Diary of a Somebody

Paperback, 09/01/2020, £8.99
£8.09
A unique mix of poetry and diary by the unofficial Poet Laureate of Twitter, the enigmatic Brian Bilston, this suburban murder mystery will appeal to fans of Adrian Mole and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time.

Summer

Hardback, 02/07/2020, £16.99
£15.29

Hark

Paperback, 06/02/2020, £8.99
£8.09

Scorn: The Wittiest and Wickedest Insults in Human History

Paperback, 02/11/2017, £9.99
£8.99
A totally up-to-date compendium of the sharpest, wittiest and downright rudest insults in human history

Black Robe

7, 21/05/1987, £11.99
£10.79
To Father Paul, the Algonkian Indians are pagans in need of salvation. To the Indians, Catholic priests are greedy and selfish. Accompanying Father Paul on his mission to relieve a priest in danger of his life, Daniel is torn between the need to serve God and the power of the Indian way of life.

Secret Pilgrim: The Smiley Collection

Paperback, 27/02/2020, £7.99
£7.19

The City in the Middle of the Night

Paperback, 31/03/2020, £8.99
£8.09
Entertainment Weekly's 27 Female Authors Who Rule Sci-Fi and Fantasy Right Now All the Birds in the Sky - Winner of the 2017 Nebula Award for Best Novel, Finalist for the 2017 Hugo Award for Best Novel

New Achilles

Paperback, 28/11/2019, £9.99
£8.99
From 'one of the finest historical fiction writers in the world' (Ben Kane) comes a brand new series about the last great hero of ancient Greece.

Memorial

Hardback, 07/01/2021, £14.99
£13.49
The stellar debut novel of two young men falling in and out of love, from the winner of the Dylan Thomas Prize 2020.

Lady Cyclist's Guide to Kashgar

Paperback, 14/03/2013, £7.99
£7.00
An extraordinary story of inheritance, belonging and the stories that bind us to our past, set in modern-day London and 1920s Kashgar

The Deathless Girls

Paperback, 31/03/2020, £7.99
£7.19
Gothic, intoxicating, feminist, darkly provoking and deeply romantic - this is the breathtakingly imagined untold story of the brides of Dracula, by bestselling author Kiran Millwood Hargrave in her much-anticipated YA debut.

Expo Files

Paperback, 29/03/2012, £12.99
£11.69
Another side of Stieg Larsson - incisive articles and texts by the author of the Millennium Trilogy.

Burnt Sugar

Paperback, 30/07/2020, £14.99
£13.49

Smokin' Seventeen: A witty mystery full of laughs, lust and high-stakes suspense

Paperback, 15/11/2011, £8.99
£8.09
Smokin' Seventeen is the seventeenth sizzling hot crime adventure in Janet Evanovich's hilarious Stephanie Plum series

Gina's Therapy

Paperback, 08/04/2020, £10.99
£8.99
Looking back, Gina's life inevitably divides into before and after, like some predictable diet advert. As she pinpointed the day her world began to shift, wondering if she knew, subconsciously, that something significant was afoot.

Darkest evening

Hardback, 03/09/2020, £18.99
£17.09
The ninth novel in the Vera Stanhope series from the Sunday Times bestseller Ann Cleeves; now a major TV series from ITV.

Kafka

Paperback, 28/06/2002, £5.99
£5.39
Franz Kafka is a challenging chronicler of a nightmarish world. This book introduces the reader to Kafka's dark and often unsettling mid-European imagination. This book sets Kafka in centext and explores his relevance to our modern world. It provides a balance of biography, influences and critical appraisal.

Summer

Paperback, 04/07/2019, £8.99
£8.09

Parisian

Paperback, 06/02/2020, £9.99
£8.99
This novel tells that kind of joyful story, and evokes that kind of joy in the reader' Jonathan Safran Foer Midhat Kamal - dreamer, romantic, aesthete - leaves Palestine in 1914 to study medicine in France, under the tutelage of Dr Molineu.

I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death

Paperback, 29/05/2018, £9.99
£8.99
The Sunday Times No. 1 Bestseller - an extraordinarily intimate memoir of the the brushes with death that have made Maggie O'Farrell the woman and the writer she is today.

Hungry Grass

Paperback, 08/09/2016, £10.00
£9.00
A quiet, engaging novel about the death of a priest in 1950s Ireland and a world on the cusp of change.

Vox

Paperback, 12/01/1998, £6.99
£6.29
A man and a woman, strangers to each other, residents of distant cities, have both called an adult party line. Finding each other's voice attractive, they soon switch to a private, "one-to-one" connection. Their seduction-through-conversation begins hesitantly and then becomes erotic.

Second Sleep

Hardback, 05/09/2019, £20.00
£18.00
The land around is strewn with ancient artefacts - coins, fragments of glass, human bones - which the old parson used to collect.As Fairfax is drawn more deeply into the isolated community, everything he believes - about himself, his faith and the history of his world - is tested to destruction.

In Search of Hope (Hope Trilogy 1)

Paperback, 19/10/2017, £8.99
£8.09
An unexpected inheritance from her grandmother offers Libby Pulford the opportunity to escape her abusive marriage and return to her Lancashire roots with her young son Ned. But her domineering husband Steven won't let her go so easily.

Dark Tower I: The Gunslinger: Film Tie-In

Paperback, 20/06/2017, £8.99
£8.09
Stephen King's epic fantasy series, The Dark Tower, is being made into a major motion picture starring Idris Elba and Matthew McConaughey. Due in cinemas August 18, 2017.

Pride and Prejudice

Paperback, 05/05/1992, £2.50
£2.25
The garrulous and empty-headed Mrs Bennet has only one aim - that of finding a good match for each of her five daughters. In this, she is mocked by her cynical and indolent husband. This is an ironic novel of manners.

G

Paperback, 01/08/2012, £10.99
£9.89
A reissued edition of this classic Booker Prize-winning novel

Death in Her Hands

Paperback, 26/05/2020, £14.99
£13.49
A triumphant blend of horror, suspense and pitch-black comedy, from the Booker-shortlisted author of Eileen and My Year of Rest and Relaxation While on her daily walk with her dog in the nearby woods, our protagonist comes across a note, handwritten and carefully pinned to the ground with stones.

Berg

Paperback, 01/12/2001, £9.99
£8.99
"A man called Berg, who changed his name to Greb, came to a seaside town intending to kill his father. . . ."

Under The Skin

Paperback, 06/07/2017, £9.99
£8.99
One of Michel Faber's best-loved novels, this is an utterly compulsive and mysterious masterpiece

Concrete

Paperback, 04/03/2019, £9.99
£8.99
Genius.' - Michael Hofmann Instead of the book he's meant to write, Rudolph, a Viennese musicologist, produces this dark and grotesquely funny account of small woes writ large, of profound horrors detailed and rehearsed to the point of distraction.

Celestial Bodies

Paperback, 21/06/2018, £8.99
£8.09
Celestial Bodies is a coiled spring of a novel, telling of Oman's coming-of-age through the prism of one family's losses and loves.

Case of Charles Dexter Ward

Paperback, 01/12/2016, £12.99
£11.69
First published in 1941 and set aginst the rich canvas of New England history, this is American author H. P. Lovecraft's exploration of a mind destroyed by an obsession with an ancestor, a reputed necromancer.

Special Assignments: Erast Fandorin 5

Paperback, 10/01/2008, £9.99
£8.99
The daring Russian sleuth Erast Fandorin takes on two cunning adversaries. From the bestselling author of THE WINTER QUEEN.

Myra Breckinridge And Myron

Paperback, 22/04/1993, £12.99
£11.69
Gore Vidal's two related novels in a single volume, with a new introduction by the author. Myra Breckinridge arrives in Hollywood intending to prove that it is possible to work out in life all one's fantasies - and survive. And in "Myron" she returns to battle it out with her eponymous alter ego.

Murder to Die For

Paperback, 25/01/2018, £8.99
£8.09
When hordes of people descend on the picturesque village of Nasely for the annual celebration of its most famous resident, murder mystery writer Agnes Crabbe, events take a dark turn as the festival opens with a shocking death.

Snow Ball

Paperback, 05/11/2020, £9.99
£8.99
The scandalous cult classic: when Anna is kissed by a masked figure at a New Year's Eve masquerade ball, a heady dance of seduction begins. 'Superb ...

Come Rain or Come Shine: Faber Stories

Paperback, 03/01/2019, £3.50
£3.15
When Ray turns up to visit his old university friends Charlie and Emily, he's given a special task: to be so much his useless self that he makes Charlie look good by comparison. But Ray has his own buried feelings to contend with.

Fragrance of Guava

7, 20/04/1998, £7.99
£7.19
In these conversations Gabriel Garcia Marquez, who won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1982, speaks about his Colombian family background, his early travels and struggles as writer, his literary antecedents, and his personal artistic concerns.

Symposium

Paperback, 07/09/2006, £8.99
£8.09
Seemingly banal dinner-party chat reveals strange tales of the guests' dodgy pasts and unreliable futures. Symposium is Muriel Spark at her wicked best.

The Beijing Conspiracy

Paperback, 04/03/2021, £8.99
£8.09
One man is caught up in a lethal global conspiracy in this explosive spy thriller

Imperium: (Cicero Trilogy 1)

Paperback, 01/10/2009, £8.99
£8.09
When Tiro, the confidential secretary of a Roman senator, opens the door to a terrified stranger on a cold November morning, he sets in motion a chain of events which will eventually propel his master into one of the most famous courtroom dramas in history.

Tales from a Master's Notebook: Stories Henry James Never Wrote

Hardback, 05/04/2018, £14.99
£13.49
When Henry James died he left behind a series of notebooks filled with ideas for novels and stories that he never wrote.

Typewriter Girl

Paperback, 16/10/2018, £12.95
£11.66

Dark Tower I: The Gunslinger: (Volume 1)

Hardback, 01/02/2012, £8.99
£8.09
Stephen King's epic fantasy series, The Dark Tower, is being made into a major motion picture starring Idris Elba and Matthew McConaughey. Due in cinemas August 18, 2017.
Twitter

 

Canterbury Festival 2020
  Canterbury Festival