close
Navigation
Categories
BBC National Short Story Award 2021
  BBC National Short Story Award 2021
Signed Books - Save 50%
  
Secure Payments
 
 
Payment Method
 
 

Novels & Short Stories

View as
Sort by
Display per page

Only When I Larf

Paperback, 25/11/2021, £9.99
£8.99

Diary of a Somebody

Paperback, 09/01/2020, £8.99
£8.09
A unique mix of poetry and diary by the unofficial Poet Laureate of Twitter, the enigmatic Brian Bilston, this suburban murder mystery will appeal to fans of Adrian Mole and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time.

Black Moth

Hardback, 26/08/2021, £12.99
£11.69
. Utter, immersive escapism' SOPHIE KINSELLA ______________________________ Diana Beauleigh is caught between two men. Seven long years ago, Jack Carstares, the Earl of Wyncham, sacrificed his honour for his brother and has been in exile ever since.

Stars are Fire

Paperback, 19/04/2018, £8.99
£8.09
Anita Shreve's brilliant new novel - for fans of Anne Tyler and Maggie O'Farrell.

Trouble with Lichen

Paperback, 07/08/2008, £8.99
£8.09
Francis and Diana, two scientists investigating a lichen, discover it has a remarkable property: it retards the aging process. Francis, realising the implications for the world of a youthful, wealthy elite, wants to keep it secret, but Diana sees an opportunity to overturn the male status quo by using the lichen to inspire a feminist revolution.

Inventory of Losses

Hardback, 20/08/2020, £20.00
£18.00
A startlingly original book by the author of Atlas of Remote Islands

Life in the Country

Paperback, 20/09/2018, £5.99
£5.39
Also including the well-known stories `She-Wolf' and `Foxfur', A Life in the Country captures, in an objective, non-judgemental prose, the difficult conditions and personal struggles of the peasant class in his native Sicily at the turn of the twentieth century.

Summer

Hardback, 02/07/2020, £16.99
£15.29

Hark

Paperback, 06/02/2020, £8.99
£8.09
A riotous novel of awkward believers, floundering marriages and our maladjusted 21st century, from one of America's sharpest satirists - for fans of Gary Shteyngart, Paul Murray and Larry David.

Noise

Hardback, 05/08/2021, £20.00
£18.00
Terror has a new sound . Hood. A team of elite government investigators are sent to research the fallout and the girls - why did only they survive? - but with conflicting objectives. Dr Chan and Lieutenant Colonel Fraser are caught between the perpetrators of the threat - and those who have the power to resist.

New Achilles

Paperback, 28/11/2019, £9.99
£8.99
From 'one of the finest historical fiction writers in the world' (Ben Kane) comes a brand new series about the last great hero of ancient Greece.

Memorial

Hardback, 07/01/2021, £14.99
£13.49
The stellar debut novel of two young men falling in and out of love, from the winner of the Dylan Thomas Prize 2020.

Faces in the Water

Paperback, 03/05/2018, £9.99
£8.99
'One of the most impressive accounts of madness to be found in literature ... A masterpiece' Anita Brookner Published as part of a beautifully designed series to mark the 40th anniversary of the Virago Modern Classics.

Assassin's Creed: Where's the Assassin?

Hardback, 07/09/2021, £9.99
£8.99
This gorgeous puzzle book for Assassin's Creed fans of all ages will delight the eyes, challenge the mind, and help fans to hone their assassin observation skills.

Scorn: The Wittiest and Wickedest Insults in Human History

Paperback, 02/11/2017, £9.99
£8.99
A totally up-to-date compendium of the sharpest, wittiest and downright rudest insults in human history

Black Robe

7, 21/05/1987, £11.99
£10.79
To Father Paul, the Algonkian Indians are pagans in need of salvation. To the Indians, Catholic priests are greedy and selfish. Accompanying Father Paul on his mission to relieve a priest in danger of his life, Daniel is torn between the need to serve God and the power of the Indian way of life.

Undertakers

Paperback, 11/11/2021, £8.99
£8.09

Shipyard Girls Under the Mistletoe

Paperback, 28/10/2021, £7.99
£7.19

Secret Pilgrim: The Smiley Collection

Paperback, 27/02/2020, £7.99
£7.19

The City in the Middle of the Night

Paperback, 31/03/2020, £8.99
£8.09
Entertainment Weekly's 27 Female Authors Who Rule Sci-Fi and Fantasy Right Now All the Birds in the Sky - Winner of the 2017 Nebula Award for Best Novel, Finalist for the 2017 Hugo Award for Best Novel

Lady Cyclist's Guide to Kashgar

Paperback, 14/03/2013, £7.99
£7.00
An extraordinary story of inheritance, belonging and the stories that bind us to our past, set in modern-day London and 1920s Kashgar

Dr Fischer of Geneva

Paperback, 02/09/1999, £8.99
£8.09
'Manages to say more about love, hate, happiness, grief, immortality, greed and the disgustingly rich than most contemporary English novels three times the length' The Times Doctor Fischer despises the human race.

Expo Files

Paperback, 29/03/2012, £12.99
£11.69
Another side of Stieg Larsson - incisive articles and texts by the author of the Millennium Trilogy.

Smokin' Seventeen: A witty mystery full of laughs, lust and high-stakes suspense

Paperback, 15/11/2011, £8.99
£8.09
Smokin' Seventeen is the seventeenth sizzling hot crime adventure in Janet Evanovich's hilarious Stephanie Plum series

The Deathless Girls

Paperback, 31/03/2020, £7.99
£7.19
Gothic, intoxicating, feminist, darkly provoking and deeply romantic - this is the breathtakingly imagined untold story of the brides of Dracula, by bestselling author Kiran Millwood Hargrave in her much-anticipated YA debut.

Burnt Sugar

Paperback, 30/07/2020, £14.99
£13.49

Darkside: From the Sunday Times bestselling author of Snap

Paperback, 29/09/2011, £8.99
£8.09
It is freezing mid-winter on Exmoor, and in a close-knit community where no stranger goes unnoticed, a local woman has been found murdered in her bed. This is local policeman Jonas Holly's first murder investigation. But he is distracted by anonymous letters, accusing him of failing to do his job.

Gina's Therapy

Paperback, 08/04/2020, £10.99
£8.99
Looking back, Gina's life inevitably divides into before and after, like some predictable diet advert. As she pinpointed the day her world began to shift, wondering if she knew, subconsciously, that something significant was afoot.

Darkest evening

Hardback, 03/09/2020, £18.99
£17.09
The ninth novel in the Vera Stanhope series from the Sunday Times bestseller Ann Cleeves; now a major TV series from ITV.

Parisian

Paperback, 06/02/2020, £9.99
£8.99
This novel tells that kind of joyful story, and evokes that kind of joy in the reader' Jonathan Safran Foer Midhat Kamal - dreamer, romantic, aesthete - leaves Palestine in 1914 to study medicine in France, under the tutelage of Dr Molineu.

Great Expectations: Chiltern Edition

Hardback, 27/09/2018, £20.00
£18.00

Lock In

Hardback, 22/07/2021, £12.99
£11.69

Summer

Paperback, 04/07/2019, £8.99
£8.09

What You Can See From Here

Paperback, 22/07/2021, £8.99
£8.09

I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death

Paperback, 29/05/2018, £9.99
£8.99
The Sunday Times No. 1 Bestseller - an extraordinarily intimate memoir of the the brushes with death that have made Maggie O'Farrell the woman and the writer she is today.

Kafka

Paperback, 28/06/2002, £5.99
£5.39
Franz Kafka is a challenging chronicler of a nightmarish world. This book introduces the reader to Kafka's dark and often unsettling mid-European imagination. This book sets Kafka in centext and explores his relevance to our modern world. It provides a balance of biography, influences and critical appraisal.

Night She Disappeared

Hardback, 22/07/2021, £14.99
£13.49
___________________________ NOW AVAILABLE TO PRE-ORDER: the brand new twisting page turner from Lisa Jewell, bestselling author of THE FAMILY UPSTAIRS and INVISIBLE GIRL DON'T GO NEAR THE HOUSE IN THE WOODS... It's late at night and Kim is waiting.

Rising Tide

Hardback, 08/07/2021, £12.99
£11.69

The Arrest

Paperback, 02/09/2021, £8.99
£8.09
From the award-winning author of The Feral Detective and Motherless Brooklyn comes an utterly original postapocalyptic yarn about two siblings, the man that came between them, and a nuclear-powered super car.

Hungry Grass

Paperback, 08/09/2016, £10.00
£9.00
A quiet, engaging novel about the death of a priest in 1950s Ireland and a world on the cusp of change.

Vox

Paperback, 12/01/1998, £6.99
£6.29
A man and a woman, strangers to each other, residents of distant cities, have both called an adult party line. Finding each other's voice attractive, they soon switch to a private, "one-to-one" connection. Their seduction-through-conversation begins hesitantly and then becomes erotic.

Barcelona Dreaming

Hardback, 08/06/2021, £16.99
£15.29
Set on the eve of the financial crash of 2008, Barcelona Dreaming is made up of three stories that are linked by time and place, and also by the moving, unexpected interactions of a rich cast of characters.

In Search of Hope (Hope Trilogy 1)

Paperback, 19/10/2017, £8.99
£8.09
An unexpected inheritance from her grandmother offers Libby Pulford the opportunity to escape her abusive marriage and return to her Lancashire roots with her young son Ned. But her domineering husband Steven won't let her go so easily.

Decadence: A Literary Anthology

Hardback, 25/11/2016, £20.00
£18.00
A well-rounded and distinctive introduction to the best of Decadent writing.

Resistance

Paperback, 04/10/2018, £12.99
£10.00
In the terrifying atmosphere of late 1970s Buenos Aires, a young militant couple engaged in the resistance against the military regime adopt a child. Amid the ever-growing oppression, the couple and their baby flee to Brazil, believing it to be a more tranquil country in which to raise a family and pursue their lives.

Dark Tower I: The Gunslinger: Film Tie-In

Paperback, 20/06/2017, £8.99
£8.09
Stephen King's epic fantasy series, The Dark Tower, is being made into a major motion picture starring Idris Elba and Matthew McConaughey. Due in cinemas August 18, 2017.
Canterbury Festival 2021
  Canterbury Festival
Twitter