close
Navigation
Categories

Novels & Short Stories

View as
Sort by
Display per page

Kiss Murder : A Hop-ciki-yaya Thriller

Paperback, 12/02/2009, £7.99
£7.19
Late one night, our glamour-puss nightclub manager receives a visit from Buse. For many years, Buse has kept letters and photos of a compromising nature, from a former relationship with a powerful lover. But her apartment has been ransacked and Buse worries about the consequences.

Bank of the Black Sheep

Paperback, 15/07/2010, £7.99
£7.19
Ex-private investigator Robin Llywelyn wakes up handcuffed to a hospice bed, full of morphine and with a fading memory as the cancer closes in. Unfortunately, bad detectives leave a lot of loose ends. Prosecuted for crimes he can't remember committing, he discovers that waiting in the wilds of West Wales is a hidden fortune.

Bouquet of Barbed Wire

Paperback, 02/09/2010, £7.99
£7.19
Peter Manson's apparently successful life is turned upside down when his beloved teenage daughter Prue reveals she's pregnant by her teacher, Gavin Sorenson. The very heart of the family is threatened as Peter has an intuitive sense that Gavin is on a personal quest for revenge.

Edisto: A Novel

Paperback, 08/11/2012, £7.99
£7.19
Simons Everson Manigault ('You say it "Simmons". I'm a rare one-m Simons') lives with his mother, an eccentric professor known as the Duchess, on an isolated strip of South Carolina coast. Convinced that her son can be a writer of genius, the Duchess has immersed Simons in the literary classics since birth.

You & I

Paperback, 09/05/2013, £7.99
£7.19
Described as 'Waiting for Godot on acid', this novel takes you on a journey into the subconscious. It is a confounding, experimental fiction for everyone who loved "The Interrogative Mood".

I,Anna

Paperback, 19/11/2012, £7.99
£7.19
Anna lives with her teenage daughter in a small New York apartment. Trying to meet people after her divorce, she begins attending singles nights, which is how she finds herself late at night, in a strange man's apartment. What happens next is a blank, but it's only the beginning of her nightmare.

Body Hunter

Hardback, 18/07/2013, £8.99
£8.09
Isabel is a young Catalan woman from a conventional family. She makes her living cleaning - in a pizza factory at night, and in the home of a middle-aged writer during the day. But she's hiding a secret life: one filled with multiple sexual partners and dangerous erotic encounters.

Beyond Black

Paperback, 25/11/2005, £8.99
£8.09
A comically sinister tale of wicked spirits and suburban mediums from the Man Booker Prize-winning author of `Wolf Hall' and `Bring Up the Bodies'.

Reaper Man: (Discworld Novel 11)

Paperback, 11/10/2012, £8.99
£8.09
'Death has to happen. Death is missing - presumed...er...gone (and on a little farm far, far away, a tall dark stranger is turning out to be really good with a scythe). If Death doesn't come for you, then what are you supposed to do in the meantime? You can't have the undead wandering about like lost souls.

Schooldays of Jesus

Paperback, 21/09/2017, £8.99
£8.09
LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2016Observer and Daily Telegraph Book of the Year 2016David is the small boy who is always asking questions. It's here, in his new golden dancing slippers, that he learns how to call down the numbers from the sky.

Good Man Jesus and the Scoundrel Christ

Paperback, 21/09/2017, £8.99
£8.09
The number one Sunday Times bestseller from award-winning and critically acclaimed author Philip Pullman

Selected Stories

Paperback, 01/03/2001, £9.99
£8.99
A collection of stories of the author whose stories - whether they are set in Italy, Greece, India, or in England itself - contrast the freedom of paganism with the restraints of English civilization, the personal, sensual delights of the body with the impersonal, inhibiting rules imposed by society.

Longest Journey

Paperback, 27/07/2006, £12.99
£11.69
Rickie Elliot, a sensitive and intelligent young man with an intense imagination and a certain amount of literary talent, sets out from Cambridge full of hopes to become a writer. But when his stories are not successful, he decides instead to marry the beautiful but shallow Agnes, agreeing to abandon his writing and become a schoolmaster.

Winter Queen: Erast Fandorin 1

Paperback, 17/01/2004, £8.99
£8.09
'An absolute delight. Think Tolstoy writing James Bond with the logical rigour of Sherlock Holmes. A hoot' Guardian

Murder on the Leviathan: Erast Fandorin 3

Paperback, 21/10/2004, £8.99
£8.09
The second Erast Fandorin mystery from Boris Akunin, shortlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger.

Turkish Gambit: Erast Fandorin 2

Paperback, 01/10/2005, £8.99
£8.09
Erast Fandorin returns in another thrilling Russian crime caper, from the bestselling author of THE WINTER QUEEN.

Death of Achilles: Erast Fandorin 4

Paperback, 03/08/2006, £8.99
£8.09
Erast Fandorin returns to Moscow, and he just can't seem to keep out of trouble... The fourth novel in the bestselling crime series from the author of THE WINTER QUEEN.

Pelagia and the White Bulldog: The First Sister Pelagia Mystery

Paperback, 18/04/2007, £8.99
£8.09
Canine conspiracies, spurned lovers, murderous greed, jealousy, politics, power and knitting: Pelagia and the White Bulldog marks the beginning of an addictively entertaining new crime series from the internationally bestselling author, Boris Akunin.

Pelagia And The Black Monk: The Second Sister Pelagia Mystery

Paperback, 16/04/2008, £8.99
£8.09
Sister Pelagia, bespectacled, freckled, woefully clumsy and possessed of a not very nunnish aptitude for solving crimes, returns in a tale of monastic intrigue, murder and adventure.

Pelagia And The Red Rooster: The Third Sister Pelagia Mystery

Paperback, 01/11/2009, £8.99
£8.09
The next caper in the Sister Pelagia mystery from the bestselling author of THE WINTER QUEEN.

State Counsellor: Erast Fandorin 6

Paperback, 01/01/2009, £8.99
£8.09
Dashing hero Erast Fandorin returns for another intriguing Russian crime caper, from the bestselling author of THE WINTER QUEEN.

Coronation: Erast Fandorin 7

Paperback, 01/03/2010, £8.99
£8.09
Fandorin returns in a swashbuckling tale of abduction and intrigue, set during the build-up to the coronation of Tsar Nicholas II.

She Lover Of Death: Erast Fandorin 8

Paperback, 01/09/2010, £8.99
£8.09
Can Fandorin infiltrate a secret society to save Moscow's youth? A dark and decadent detective story from the master of Russian crime fiction.

Diamond Chariot: Erast Fandorin 10

Paperback, 01/09/2012, £9.99
£8.99
A stunning and epic finale to the series, pitting Fandorin against both Ninjas and terrorists on the Trans-Siberian Express!

Execution Channel

Paperback, 06/03/2008, £6.99
£6.29
Ken MacLeod's most relevant and accessible novel to date.

Corner That Held Them

Paperback, 01/03/2012, £8.99
£8.09
A masterful historical novel of monastic life, set in the 14th century. Many consider this Townsend Warner's most accomplished work.

Lucky Us

Hardback, 28/08/2014, £12.99
£11.69
A thrilling and resonant novel from the author of Away, about loyalty, ambition, and the pleasures and perils of family, set in 1940s America

Radleys

Paperback, 13/06/2011, £7.99
£7.19
Families. Sometimes they're a bloody nightmare ...

Hearing Trumpet

Paperback, 20/04/1998, £11.99
£10.79

Column of Fire

Hardback, 12/09/2017, £20.00
£14.00
The saga that has enthralled the millions of readers with The Pillars of the Earth and World Without End now continues with Ken Follett's magnificent, gripping A Column of Fire.

Old Man's War

Paperback, 05/11/2015, £7.99
£7.19
A virtuosic debut novel in the tradition of Robert A. Heinlein.

Glastonbury Romance

Paperback, 01/01/2007, £20.00
£18.00
First published in 1932, this novel probes the mystical and spiritual ethos of the small English village of Glastonbury, and the effect upon its inhabitants of a mythical tradition from the remotest past of human history - the legend of the Grail.

Attrib. and other stories

Paperback, 06/03/2017, £9.99
£8.99
With affectionate, irreverent and playful prose, the inability to communicate exactly what we mean dominates this bold new collection from one of Britain's unique and most original new writers.

Warcross

Hardback, 14/09/2017, £12.99
£11.69

GUGGENHEIM MYSTERY

Hardback, 03/08/2017, £9.99
£8.99

Other Men's Daughters

Paperback, 29/08/2017, £9.99
£8.99

Happy Days of the Grump

Paperback, 21/09/2017, £7.99
£7.19
Everybody recognises the Grump, everybody knows a grump. And maybe there's a little grump in every one of us . With wry humour and sharp observations on family and relationships, The Happy Days of the Grump is a black comedy, sure to bring a smile to the face of even the grumpiest among us.

Elmet

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £10.99
£9.89
An atmospheric and thrilling debut set in Yorkshire - perfect for fans of The Loney and The Essex Serpent

Wanting

Paperback, 01/03/2010, £8.99
£8.09
A novel of magnificent power and reach from one of the most original and impressive novelists working in the English language today - and winner of the Man Booker Prize 2014

Dinner

Paperback, 02/05/2013, £7.99
£7.19
One of the most talked-about novels of 2012 is set to become one of the biggest books of 2013.

Visit From The Goon Squad

Paperback, 17/03/2011, £11.99
£10.79
A novel that circles the lives of Bennie Salazar, an aging former punk rocker and record executive, and Sasha, the passionate, troubled young woman he employs. Although Bennie and Sasha never discover each other's pasts, the reader does, in detail, along with the secret lives of a host of other characters whose paths intersect with theirs.

House at Sea's End: Ruth Galloway 3

Paperback, 23/06/2011, £6.99
£6.29
Forensic archaeologist, Dr Ruth Galloway's most challenging case yet unravels a mystery rooted in World War 2.

Story of a Modern Woman

Paperback, 14/01/2004, £20.95
£18.86
This Broadview edition's rich selection of historical documents helps contextualize The Story of a Modern Woman in relation to contemporary debates about the "New Woman."

Daughters of Danaus

Paperback, 01/05/2008, £11.95

Fire Next Time

Paperback, 25/01/1990, £8.99
£8.09
Sounds a clarion warning to the world.

Blood on the Saddle

Paperback, 16/08/2007, £7.99
£7.19
Dickens and Clot Investigations Ltd, a detective agency in a waterlogged, semi-buried Madrid of the near future, has a couple of unusual specialities: helping distraught authors and taking on Manex Chopeitia. The authors are frantically in search of characters who've quit the page and assumed a life of their own.

Crossing the Dark

Paperback, 05/07/2007, £8.99
£8.09
Mona, a high-ranking police officer, has rescued her teenage daughter Perdita from a dangerous criminal who has been using her as a sex slave. But rescue is not the same as recovery - Perdita is still suffering, and her social life and mental state seem to be irreparably damaged.

Dark Tales

Paperback, 28/09/2017, £8.99
£8.09

Behind the Door

Paperback, 15/08/2017, £8.99
£8.09

Me Before You

Paperback, 28/04/2016, £7.99
£7.19
Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick. What Lou doesn't know is she's about to lose her job or that knowing what's coming is what keeps her sane.

 

 

Twitter
Secure Payments
 
 
Payment Method