close
Navigation
Categories

Novels & Short Stories

View as
Sort by
Display per page

Desperate Characters

Paperback, 01/06/2003, £9.99
A Great American Novel - from the author of `Borrowed Finery'.

Look At Me

Paperback, 02/06/2016, £8.99

Sugar Money

Hardback, 05/10/2017, £14.99
The stunning return from the Orange Prize shortlisted author of The Observations and Gillespie and I'A vivid, perfectly paced tale of slavery and freedom, innocence and experience, love and despair, Sugar Money is told in an unforgettably beautiful language.

The Good German

Paperback, 01/01/2004, £8.99
From the author of Leaving Berlin comes this gripping a Cold War thriller, which was turned into a major film and is now considered a modern classic

Last Train to Istanbul: A Novel

Paperback, 08/10/2013, £8.99

My Side of the Diamond

Paperback, 27/09/2017, £9.99
An extraordinary tale about the search for love from the acclaimed Costa and Carnegie winning novelist Sally Gardner.Jazmin has been shunned ever since her best friend Becky disappeared. But Becky didn't just disappear - she jumped off a tall building and seemingly never reached the ground.

Last Summer

Paperback, 01/02/2017, £12.00
A psychological thriller by the pioneering German writer Ricarda Huch. A novel of letters from the last century - but one with an astonishingly modern feel. Now for the first time in English.

Time And Again: Time and Again: Book One

Paperback, 09/08/2001, £8.99
'One of the most important, and most moving, timeslip texts yet composed' THE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF FANTASY.

Snowdrift and Other Stories (includes three new recently discovered short stories)

Paperback, 19/10/2017, £7.99
All the gallantry, villainy and elegance of the age that Georgette Heyer has so triumphantly made her own are exquisitely revived in these wonderfully romantic stories of the Regency period. Georgette Heyer achieves what the rest of us aspire to.' Katie Fforde'My favourite historical novelist - stylish, romantic, sharp and witty.

Zodiac

Paperback, 15/04/2017, £7.99
A series of uniquely brutal murders targets victims from totally different walks of life. All eyes are on Detective Jerome Burton and astrological profiler Lindi Childs - divided in their beliefs over whether the answer is written in the stars but united in their conviction that there is an ingenious serial killer executing a grand plan.

Dexter Is Dead

Paperback, 24/03/2016, £8.99
New York Times bestselling author Jeff Lindsay bids a thrilling farewell to his uniquely twisted and beloved serial killer, Dexter Morgan. Dexter Is Dead is the definitive conclusion of the character who has become a global icon.

Edge Chronicles: Beyond the Deepwoods

Paperback, 30/01/2014, £7.99
Abandoned at birth in the perilous Deepwoods, Twig Verginix is brought up by a family of woodtrolls.

Mortal Engines

Paperback, 03/09/2015, £7.99
The first instalment in the MORTAL ENGINES quartet, introducing young apprentice Tom Natsworthy and the murderous Hester Shaw, flung from the fast-moving city of London into heart-stopping adventures in the wastelands of the Great Hunting Ground. "My favourite contemporary children's author is Philip Reeve" - Charlie Higson

Cold Feet: The Lost Years

Hardback, 07/09/2017, £12.99
An original COLD FEET novel written in collaboration with the award-winning COLD FEET team.

Beginning of Spring

Paperback, 27/04/1989, £8.99
Shortlisted for the Booker Prize. It is March 1913, and the grand old city of Moscow is stirring herself to meet the beginning of spring. Change is in the air, and nowhere more so than at 22 Lipka Street, the home of English printer Frank Reid.

Knox Brothers

Paperback, 01/01/2002, £10.99
Penelope Fitzgerald's biography of her remarkable family.

Pocketful of Crows

Hardback, 19/10/2017, £12.99
A perfect autumn and Christmas read, this combines the harshness of nature with the spookiness of a ghost story and the comfort of a great folk tale, in one beautifully told novella which is stunningly illustrated by Bonnie Hawkins.

Confusion

Paperback, 02/11/2017, £4.99

Amok

Paperback, 02/11/2017, £4.99
"First published in German as Der Amokl aufer in 1922 Atrium Press"--Title page verso.

Burning Secret

Paperback, 02/11/2017, £4.99

Body in the Ice

Paperback, 02/11/2017, £7.99
A twisting tale of murder, mystery and eighteenth-century England by a dramatic and gripping new voice in the genre. On the frozen fields of Romney Marsh stands New Hall;

Classic Fairy Tales 2ed

Paperback, 12/12/2016, £18.99
Fairy tales shape our cultures and enrich our imaginations; their narrative stability and cultural durability are incontestable.

Nine Lessons

Hardback, 02/11/2017, £12.99
Josephine Tey is in Cambridge, a town gripped by fear and suspicion as a serial rapist stalks the streets, and in the shadow of King's College Chapel, Detective Chief Inspector Archie Penrose faces some of the most horrific and audacious murders of his career.

Memoirs of a Fox-hunting Man

Hardback, 02/11/2017, £12.99
It is with a sigh that I remember simple moments such as those, when I understood so little of the deepening sadness of life, and only the strangeness of the spring was knocking at my heart.In the 1920s, a young man, grappling with the horrors of the war from which he had just returned, decided to write about a happier time.

English Murder

Paperback, 02/11/2017, £8.99
The snow is thick, the phone line is down, and no one is getting in or out of Warbeck Hall. With friends and family gathered round the fire, all should be set for a perfect Christmas, but as the bells chime midnight, a mysterious murder takes place. And perhaps the real question is: can any of them survive long enough to tell the tale?

Rules of Magic

Hardback, 02/11/2017, £16.99
The stunning prequel to Alice Hoffman's bestselling and most beloved novel ever, Practical Magic, taking us into the lives of Jet and Frances Owens.

Boy Made of Snow

Hardback, 31/10/2017, £14.99
'A haunting and thrilling read' Kate Hamer, author of The Girl in the Red Coat, perfect for fans of Atonement, Suite Francaise and A Place Called Winter. While the war rages abroad, different battles are fought on the home front, battles of the heart.

Last Hours

Hardback, 02/11/2017, £20.00
Minette Walters has been a master of crime fiction for nearly two decades. Now this extraordinary writer turns her talents in a bold new direction; a sweeping, utterly gripping historical novel set during the time of the Black Death in Dorset.

Scorn: The Wittiest and Wickedest Insults in Human History

Paperback, 02/11/2017, £9.99
A totally up-to-date compendium of the sharpest, wittiest and downright rudest insults in human history

Alarming Palsy of James Orr

Hardback, 02/11/2017, £12.99

Shipwrecks

Paperback, 02/11/2017, £9.99
An evocative historical novel with a sting in the tail, Shipwrecks is a powerful and deeply moving Japanese classic, introduced by David Mitchell

Heather, The Totality

Hardback, 07/11/2017, £14.99
The explosive debut novel - about family, power and privilege - from the creator of the award-winning Mad Men

Witchborn

Paperback, 02/11/2017, £6.99
1577. Queen Elizabeth I has imprisoned scheming Mary Queen of Scots, and Alyce's mother is burned at the stake for witchcraft. Alyce flees to London - but as she discovers her own dark magic, powerful forces are on her trail. Soon she finds herself deep in a secret battle between rival queens ...

MASTER KEY

Paperback, 09/11/2017, £7.99
"First published in Japanese by Kodansha in 1962"--Title page verso.

Dogs of War

Hardback, 02/11/2017, £18.99
A bio-engineered weapon fights for its life and its right to life.

White Boots

Paperback, 21/09/2015, £6.99
The author of children's classic `Ballet Shoes' delights with a best-loved story of ice skating rivalry...

Night Shift

Paperback, 01/01/2012, £9.99
Hodder are boosting Stephen King's backlist with new covers, new author branding and a marketing campaign which directs readers to the right King title for them.

Cross and the Curse: Bernicia Chronicles 2

Hardback, 16/11/2017, £18.99
AD 634 Anglo-Saxon Britain. The second instalment in the Bernicia Chronicles, an action-packed historical thriller set in Anglo-Saxon Britain.

Sicilian Carousel

Paperback, 09/11/2017, £12.99
Having immersed himself in the islands of Rhodes, Corfu and Cyprus, Lawrence Durrell turns to Sicily, the largest of the Mediterranean islands, with its long and varied history and its spectacular archaeological remains.

Secret Life of Walter Mitty

Paperback, 03/11/2016, £7.99

Ice

Paperback, 11/01/2018, £8.99
An electrifying story of friendship, power and betrayal by the bestselling, Baileys-prize shortlisted author of The Bees. `A memorable eco-thriller. This is a world of arms dealers, heroic arctic adventurers and power crazed captains of industry. And that's just the ladies' The Times

Anatomy of a Scandal

Hardback, 01/01/2018, £12.99
The gripping and controversial novel that is guaranteed to get readers talking in 2018!

How to Stop Time

Paperback, 14/12/2017, £8.99
The Sunday Times top ten bestseller from the author of Reasons to Stay Alive and The Humans

Vindolanda

Paperback, 16/11/2017, £8.99
AD 98: The army base at Vindolanda lies on the northern frontier of Britannia and the entire Roman world. Defences are weak, as tribes rebel against Roman rule, and local druids preach the fiery destruction of the invaders.

Let it Snow

Paperback, 13/11/2017, £6.99
A classic Christmas picture book from multiple award-winner and former Children's Laureate Anne Fine.

Notes for a Young Gentleman

Hardback, 26/11/2017, £18.99

Grain of Wheat

Paperback, 07/02/2000, £9.99
A novel that portrays several characters in a village whose intertwined lives are transformed by the 1952-1960 Emergency in Kenya. It features a reticent Mugo, the village's chosen hero and a man haunted by a terrible secret.

Birth of a Dream Weaver: A Writer's Awakening

Paperback, 02/11/2017, £9.99
`Exquisite in its honesty and truth and resilience, and a necessary chronicle from one of the greatest writers of our time' Chimamanda Ngozi AdichieSelected as a Book of the Year 2016 in the GuardianWhen Ngugi wa Thiong'o arrives at the prestigious Makerere University, it embodies all the potential and excitement of the early 1960s.
Twitter
Secure Payments
 
 
Payment Method