close
Navigation
Categories
BBC National Short Story Award 2021
  BBC National Short Story Award 2021
Signed Books - Save 50%
  
Secure Payments
 
 
Payment Method
 
 

Novels & Short Stories

View as
Sort by
Display per page

Testimony

Hardback, 27/07/2017, £18.99
£17.09
Four hundred dead. Only one witness. Scott Turow is back tackling his biggest case yet in The Hague . . .

Blood and Guts in High School

Paperback, 31/08/2017, £9.99
£8.99

Samurai

Paperback, 03/08/2017, £9.99
£8.99

Too Like the Lightning

Hardback, 13/07/2017, £18.99
£17.09
The year is 2454: Earth's hard-won utopian society is threatened by a young boy with apparently god-like powers.

Case of Charles Dexter Ward

Paperback, 01/12/2016, £12.99
£11.69
First published in 1941 and set aginst the rich canvas of New England history, this is American author H. P. Lovecraft's exploration of a mind destroyed by an obsession with an ancestor, a reputed necromancer.

My Son, My Son

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
First published in 1938, MY SON, MY SON is bestselling British author Howard Spring's multigenerational portrait of a relationship between father and son.

Heaven's My Destination

Paperback, 08/09/2016, £10.00
£9.00
First published in 1935, HEAVEN'S MY DESTINATION is American author and dramatist Thornton Wilder's masterful portrayal of the power of an outsider's viewpoint.

Authentic Death of Hendry Jones

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
A stark and violent exploration of an American myth, this is a novel about the doomed gunslinger Billy the Kid.

History of a Town

Paperback, 08/09/2016, £10.00
£9.00
One of the major satirical novels of modern Russia, Saltykov-Schedrin's hilarious chronicle is a harch criticism of Tsarist Russia, strangely pertinent to today.

Man on a Donkey

Paperback, 01/12/2016, £10.00
£9.00
An enthralling account of Henry VIII's controversial dissolution of the monasteries.

Council of Egypt

Paperback, 01/12/2016, £10.00
£9.00
A tale of power, corruption and forgery set in a Sicily ripe for reform.

Jest of God

Paperback, 09/03/2017, £10.00
£9.00
A duty-ridden woman dreams of breaking free from her small-town chains.

Paradise Valley

Hardback, 25/07/2017, £18.99
£17.09
Investigator Cassie Dewell's three-year hunt for the serial killer known as 'The Lizard King' comes to a climax.

Company K

Paperback, 09/03/2017, £10.00
£9.00
An unflinching portrait of a US Marine company in WWI, written by a decorated army hero.

Now in November

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
First published in 1934, NOW IN NOVEMBER is American author Josephine W. Johnson's lyrical and an indelible portrait of the Depression and Dust Bowl years in America.

Lost Europeans

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
First published in 1960, THE LOST EUROPEANS is British author Emanuel Litvinoff's story of an inverse pilgrimage: that of a Jewish man to a resurgent, post-war Berlin.

Bosnian Chronicle

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
First published in 1945, this is Bosnian author Ivo Andric's saga of turbulent imperial forces played out through the fates of two men in a remote outpost of the Ottoman Empire.

Man Who Loved Children

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
Australian novelist Christina Stead's 1940 novel about the dysfunctional Pollitt family.

Delta Wedding

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
First published in 1946, DELTA WEDDING is legendary American author Eudora Welty's portrait of family life in the American South during the 1920s.

Day of Judgment

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
Around the turn of the twentieth century, in the isolated Sardinian town of Nuoro, the aristocratic notary Don Sebastiano Sanna reflects on his life, his family's history and the fortunes of this provincial backwater where he has lived out his days.

Nebuly Coat

Paperback, 01/12/2016, £10.00
£9.00
A young architect is sent to a remote town to supervise the restoration of its Minster.

Hungry Grass

Paperback, 08/09/2016, £10.00
£9.00
A quiet, engaging novel about the death of a priest in 1950s Ireland and a world on the cusp of change.

Stone Angel

Paperback, 08/09/2016, £10.00
£9.00
As she approaches her death, Hagar Shipley - an irascible, independent nonagenarian - rages against the dying of the light.

Ice Saints

Paperback, 04/05/2017, £10.00
£9.00
An award-winning novel depicting life in Poland behind the Iron Curtain.

South Wind

Paperback, 09/03/2017, £12.00
£10.80
An Anglican bishop, on recuperative leave from his African diocese, alights at the island of Nepthene for a short stay on passage to England, and is soon caught in the midst of a wild and exuberant cast of fellow visitors and residents.

Pachinko

Paperback, 03/08/2017, £8.99
£8.09
A victorian epic transplanted to Japan, following a Korean family of immigrants through eight decades and four generations.

Letty Fox: Her Luck

Paperback, 04/05/2017, £14.00
£12.60
Letty Fox talks us through her search for marital bliss in 1930s New York and London.

Langrishe, Go Down

Paperback, 13/07/2017, £10.00
£9.00
Set against the backdrop of 1930s Europe, Higgin's classic novel depicts the demise of the old order of power in Ireland.

Frankenstein 3ed

Paperback, 06/04/2016, £10.99
£9.89

War

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £8.99
£8.09

Fear

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £8.99
£8.09

Innocence

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £8.99
£8.09

Trickery

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £8.99
£8.09

Ernesto

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £10.00
£9.00
A coming-of-age story set in fin de siecle Trieste.

Free Food for Millionaires

Paperback, 01/08/2017, £14.99
£13.49
A young woman is torn between her Korean heritage and American upbringing. Min Jin Lee's acclaimed debut novel.

Bogmail

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £8.99
£8.09
A slice of crazed, rural, Irish gothic: the tale of murder in a small Irish village in Donegal, Bogmail is a classic of modern Irish literature.

Do Not Become Alarmed

Paperback, 06/07/2017, £12.99
£11.69

Incredulity of Father Brown

Paperback, 05/06/2008, £6.99
£6.29

Fire In The Head

Paperback, 24/09/2010, £11.00
£9.90
Set in Glasgow and a remote "hippy" community on the west coast of Scotland, this is a story of love, rivalries, ecological politics, murder, suicide, high values and low commedy. The hapless and slightly pompous protagonist, Jonathan Armour does not always understand the story he is telling, but he tells it beautifully.

Year Of The Drought

Paperback, 21/06/2016, £10.99
£9.89

Under a Pole Star

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £7.99
£7.19
A panoramic historical epic and an unforgettable love story from the author of the Costa-winning The Tenderness of Wolves, for fans of Sarah Perry, Jessie Burton and Donna Tartt

Dragonwriter

Paperback, 22/08/2013, £10.99
£9.89
Science fiction Grand Master Anne McCaffrey and her work, particularly her Dragonriders of Pern series, are beloved by generations of readers. This title pays tribute to science fiction great Anne McCaffrey's life, legacy, and work from the writers who knew her best.

Nabokov's Dozen: Thirteen Stories

Paperback, 07/09/2017, £9.99
£8.99

Ninth Life of Louis Drax

Paperback, 07/06/2010, £8.99
£4.50
Nine-year-old Louis Drax is a problem child: bright, precocious, deceitful, and dangerously, disturbingly, accident prone. When he falls off a cliff into a ravine, the accident seems almost predestined. Louis miraculously survives - but the family has been shattered.

Pigeon English

Paperback, 05/01/2012, £8.99
£8.09
Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2011 Deeply funny, moving, idiosyncratic and unforgettable, Pigeon English introduces a major new literary talent

In Darkness

Paperback, 03/01/2013, £7.99
£7.19
An audacious and astounding novel that grips the heart and the imagination

Kill Me Twice

Paperback, 24/08/2017, £7.99
£4.00
'Booker's fast paced, twisting thrillers are a must-read for anyone who loves a good page turner' Simon Kernick'A must-read' Mark BillinghamKarl Savage is dead.

Fisher King

Paperback, 12/03/2015, £8.99
£8.09
Celebrated but crippled photographer, Saul Henchman sets out to cruise the British Isles in search of peace and fulfilment. Beautiful dancer, Barberina Rookwood gives up her career to be with him.

All The Wicked Girls

Paperback, 24/08/2017, £8.99
£8.09
'Raine sometimes complains that nothing exciting is ever gonna happen in Grace again. A model student and musical prodigy, she's a ray of light in the struggling small town of Grace, Alabama - especially compared to her troubled sister, Raine.

Lady and the Unicorn

Paperback, 01/12/2006, £8.99
£8.09
From the bestselling author of Girl with a Pearl Earring comes a historical tale of love, sex and revenge.

Burning Bright

Paperback, 04/02/2008, £8.99
£8.09
Flames and funerals, circus feats and seduction, neighbours and nakedness: a sparkling historical drama from the bestselling author of Girl with a Pearl Earring.
Canterbury Festival 2021
  Canterbury Festival
Twitter