close
Navigation
Categories

Novels & Short Stories

View as
Sort by
Display per page

Core of the Sun

Paperback, 03/08/2017, £8.99
£8.09
From the queen of 'Finnish weird', a captivating and witty speculative satire of a Handmaid's Tale-esque welfare state where women are either breeders or outcasts, addicts chase the elusive high of super-hot chilli peppers and one woman is searching for her missing sister

Destroyers

Hardback, 27/07/2017, £14.99
£13.49
The dark and compelling new literary suspense from the acclaimed author of Orient; perfect for fans of Donna Tartt

Selection Day

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £8.99
£8.09
A moving and beautifully observed novel, of adolescence, ambition and self-realization, of fathers and sons, set in contemporary Bombay, by the Man Booker Prize winning author of The White Tiger and Last Man in Tower.

Before You Go

Paperback, 27/07/2017, £7.99
£7.19
This story starts with an ending. But this ending is just the beginning.

Room by the Lake

Hardback, 10/08/2017, £14.99
£13.49
Sophisticated thriller about a young woman drawn in by a cult.

Testimony

Hardback, 27/07/2017, £18.99
£17.09
Four hundred dead. Only one witness. Scott Turow is back tackling his biggest case yet in The Hague . . .

Pitards

Paperback, 31/08/2017, £10.99
£9.89

Blood and Guts in High School

Paperback, 31/08/2017, £8.99
£8.09

Samurai

Paperback, 03/08/2017, £9.99
£8.99

After Kathy Acker: A Biography

Hardback, 31/08/2017, £20.00
£18.00

Too Like the Lightning

Hardback, 13/07/2017, £18.99
£17.09
The year is 2454: Earth's hard-won utopian society is threatened by a young boy with apparently god-like powers.

Case of Charles Dexter Ward

Paperback, 01/12/2016, £10.00
£9.00
First published in 1941 and set aginst the rich canvas of New England history, this is American author H. P. Lovecraft's exploration of a mind destroyed by an obsession with an ancestor, a reputed necromancer.

My Son, My Son

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
First published in 1938, MY SON, MY SON is bestselling British author Howard Spring's multigenerational portrait of a relationship between father and son.

Heaven's My Destination

Paperback, 08/09/2016, £10.00
£9.00
First published in 1935, HEAVEN'S MY DESTINATION is American author and dramatist Thornton Wilder's masterful portrayal of the power of an outsider's viewpoint.

Authentic Death of Hendry Jones

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
A stark and violent exploration of an American myth, this is a novel about the doomed gunslinger Billy the Kid.

History of a Town

Paperback, 08/09/2016, £10.00
£9.00
One of the major satirical novels of modern Russia, Saltykov-Schedrin's hilarious chronicle is a harch criticism of Tsarist Russia, strangely pertinent to today.

Man on a Donkey

Paperback, 01/12/2016, £10.00
£9.00
An enthralling account of Henry VIII's controversial dissolution of the monasteries.

Council of Egypt

Paperback, 01/12/2016, £10.00
£9.00
A tale of power, corruption and forgery set in a Sicily ripe for reform.

Jest of God

Paperback, 09/03/2017, £10.00
£9.00
A duty-ridden woman dreams of breaking free from her small-town chains.

Paradise Valley

Hardback, 25/07/2017, £18.99
£17.09
Investigator Cassie Dewell's three-year hunt for the serial killer known as 'The Lizard King' comes to a climax.

Company K

Paperback, 09/03/2017, £10.00
£9.00
An unflinching portrait of a US Marine company in WWI, written by a decorated army hero.

Now in November

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
First published in 1934, NOW IN NOVEMBER is American author Josephine W. Johnson's lyrical and an indelible portrait of the Depression and Dust Bowl years in America.

Lost Europeans

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
First published in 1960, THE LOST EUROPEANS is British author Emanuel Litvinoff's story of an inverse pilgrimage: that of a Jewish man to a resurgent, post-war Berlin.

Bosnian Chronicle

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
First published in 1945, this is Bosnian author Ivo Andric's saga of turbulent imperial forces played out through the fates of two men in a remote outpost of the Ottoman Empire.

Man Who Loved Children

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
Australian novelist Christina Stead's 1940 novel about the dysfunctional Pollitt family.

Delta Wedding

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
First published in 1946, DELTA WEDDING is legendary American author Eudora Welty's portrait of family life in the American South during the 1920s.

Day of Judgment

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
Around the turn of the twentieth century, in the isolated Sardinian town of Nuoro, the aristocratic notary Don Sebastiano Sanna reflects on his life, his family's history and the fortunes of this provincial backwater where he has lived out his days.

Nebuly Coat

Paperback, 01/12/2016, £10.00
£9.00
A young architect is sent to a remote town to supervise the restoration of its Minster.

Hungry Grass

Paperback, 08/09/2016, £10.00
£9.00
A quiet, engaging novel about the death of a priest in 1950s Ireland and a world on the cusp of change.

Stone Angel

Paperback, 08/09/2016, £10.00
£9.00
As she approaches her death, Hagar Shipley - an irascible, independent nonagenarian - rages against the dying of the light.

Ice Saints

Paperback, 04/05/2017, £10.00
£9.00
An award-winning novel depicting life in Poland behind the Iron Curtain.

South Wind

Paperback, 09/03/2017, £12.00
£10.80
An Anglican bishop, on recuperative leave from his African diocese, alights at the island of Nepthene for a short stay on passage to England, and is soon caught in the midst of a wild and exuberant cast of fellow visitors and residents.

Pachinko

Paperback, 03/08/2017, £8.99
£8.09
A victorian epic transplanted to Japan, following a Korean family of immigrants through eight decades and four generations.

Letty Fox: Her Luck

Paperback, 04/05/2017, £14.00
£12.60
Letty Fox talks us through her search for marital bliss in 1930s New York and London.

Langrishe, Go Down

Paperback, 13/07/2017, £10.00
£9.00
Set against the backdrop of 1930s Europe, Higgin's classic novel depicts the demise of the old order of power in Ireland.

Frankenstein 3ed

Paperback, 06/04/2016, £10.99
£9.89

War

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £8.99
£8.09

Fear

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £8.99
£8.09

Innocence

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £8.99
£8.09

Trickery

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £8.99
£8.09

Cut Short

Paperback, 30/06/2018, £8.99
£8.09

Ernesto

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £10.00
£9.00
A coming-of-age story set in fin de siecle Trieste.

Free Food for Millionaires

Paperback, 01/08/2017, £14.99
£13.49
A young woman is torn between her Korean heritage and American upbringing. Min Jin Lee's acclaimed debut novel.

Bogmail

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £8.99
£8.09
A slice of crazed, rural, Irish gothic: the tale of murder in a small Irish village in Donegal, Bogmail is a classic of modern Irish literature.

Do Not Become Alarmed

Paperback, 06/07/2017, £8.99
£8.09

City of Circles

Hardback, 08/08/2017, £17.99
£16.19
A magical love story between two circus performers, for fans of Angela Carter and Erin Morgenstern by Costa-shortlisted author Jess Richards.

Incredulity of Father Brown

Paperback, 05/06/2008, £6.99
£6.29

Fire In The Head

Paperback, 24/09/2010, £11.00
£9.90
Set in Glasgow and a remote "hippy" community on the west coast of Scotland, this is a story of love, rivalries, ecological politics, murder, suicide, high values and low commedy. The hapless and slightly pompous protagonist, Jonathan Armour does not always understand the story he is telling, but he tells it beautifully.

Year Of The Drought

Paperback, 21/06/2016, £10.99
£9.89

Under a Pole Star

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £7.99
£7.19
A panoramic historical epic and an unforgettable love story from the author of the Costa-winning The Tenderness of Wolves, for fans of Sarah Perry, Jessie Burton and Donna Tartt

Dragonwriter

Paperback, 22/08/2013, £10.99
£9.89
Science fiction Grand Master Anne McCaffrey and her work, particularly her Dragonriders of Pern series, are beloved by generations of readers. This title pays tribute to science fiction great Anne McCaffrey's life, legacy, and work from the writers who knew her best.

 

 

Twitter
Secure Payments
 
 
Payment Method