close
Navigation
Categories

Novels & Short Stories

View as
Sort by
Display per page

To Have and Have Not

Paperback, 06/07/2017, £8.99
£8.09
Harry Morgan is a tough guy making his living during the Depression from his motor boat in Key West, Florida. Although he normally takes out fishing parties, sometimes his boat can be put to other uses. If the money offered is worth his while, Harry will run guns, rum and men to and from Cuba.

Across the River and into the Trees

Paperback, 06/07/2017, £8.99
£8.09
Richard Cantrell is an American colonel living in Venice just after the Second World War. The fighting has left him scarred and embittered, a middle-aged man with a heart condition. It seems that only the love of Renata, a nineteen-year-old countess can save him.

Islands in the Stream

Paperback, 06/07/2017, £8.99
£8.09
Living a bacherlor's life on an island in the Gulf Stream during the thirties, Hudson's existence is dictated by the waves and tides. But when his sons come to visit, Hudson must grapple with the role of father and the unfamiliar demands of family. This book tells the story of Thomas Hudson, an artist and adventurer.

Voice In The Night

Paperback, 25/07/2017, £8.99
£8.09
The twentieth thrilling mystery in the much-loved Inspector Montalbano series.

Stories of Eva Luna

Paperback, 13/07/2017, £8.99
£8.09
The captivating collection of short fiction, beautifully repackaged for the first time on the Scribner list, from the internationally bestselling author of The Japanese Lover

Horse Walks into a Bar

Paperback, 16/06/2017, £8.99
£8.09
Flaying alive both himself and the people watching him, Dovaleh G provokes both revulsion and empathy from an audience that doesn't know whether to laugh or cry - and all this in the presence of a former childhood friend who is trying to understand why he's been summoned to this performance.

Beren and Luthien

Hardback, 01/06/2017, £20.00
£18.00
Painstakingly restored from Tolkien's manuscripts and presented for the first time as a continuous and standalone story, the epic tale of Beren and Luthien will reunite fans of The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings with Elves and Men, Dwarves and Orcs and the rich landscape and creatures unique to Tolkien's Middle-earth.

Music Shop

Hardback, 13/07/2017, £14.99
£13.49
1988. Frank owns a music shop. It is jam-packed with records of every speed, size and genre. Classical, jazz, punk - as long as it's vinyl he sells it. Day after day Frank finds his customers the music they need. Then into his life walks Ilse Brauchmann. Ilse asks Frank to teach her about music...

Association of Small Bombs

Paperback, 13/07/2017, £8.99
£8.09
When the Khurana boys and their friend Mansoor set out for one of Delhi's markets, disaster strikes without warning. A 'small' bomb detonates, killing the brothers instantly. Mansoor is one of the few survivors. From India to America, the lives of victims and bystanders, mothers and fathers, comrades and adversaries are changed forever.

Red Pony

Paperback, 06/07/2017, £7.99
£7.19

Secret Diary of Hendrik Groen, 831/4 Years Old

Paperback, 30/06/2017, £8.99
£8.09
Meet Hendrik Groen. An octogenarian in a care home who has no intention of doing what he's told. To that end, he creates the Old-But-Not-Dead Club and with his fellow members sets about living his final years with careless abandon. Such anarchism infuriates the care home director but pleases Eefje, the woman who makes Hendrik's heart palpitate.

Mr Midshipman Hornblower

Paperback, 13/07/2017, £8.99
£8.09

Lieutenant Hornblower

Paperback, 13/07/2017, £8.99
£8.09

Hornblower and the Hotspur

Paperback, 30/06/2017, £8.99
£8.09

End of All Things

Paperback, 16/06/2016, £7.99
£7.19
John Scalzi's sixth novel in The Old Man's War series follows human and alien governments on the brink of destruction.

Go Down Moses And Other Stories

Paperback, 04/08/2009, £9.99
£8.99
Seven dramatic stories which reveal Faulkner's compassionate understanding of the Deep South. His characters are humble people who live out their lives within the same small circle of the earth, who die unrecorded. Their epitaphs make a fitting introduction to one of the great American writers of the century.

Case of Charles Dexter Ward

Paperback, 01/12/2016, £10.00
£9.00
First published in 1941 and set aginst the rich canvas of New England history, this is American author H. P. Lovecraft's exploration of a mind destroyed by an obsession with an ancestor, a reputed necromancer.

My Son, My Son

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
First published in 1938, MY SON, MY SON is bestselling British author Howard Spring's multigenerational portrait of a relationship between father and son.

Heaven's My Destination

Paperback, 08/09/2016, £10.00
£9.00
First published in 1935, HEAVEN'S MY DESTINATION is American author and dramatist Thornton Wilder's masterful portrayal of the power of an outsider's viewpoint.

Authentic Death of Hendry Jones

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
A stark and violent exploration of an American myth, this is a novel about the doomed gunslinger Billy the Kid.

History of a Town

Paperback, 08/09/2016, £10.00
£9.00
One of the major satirical novels of modern Russia, Saltykov-Schedrin's hilarious chronicle is a harch criticism of Tsarist Russia, strangely pertinent to today.

Man on a Donkey

Paperback, 01/12/2016, £10.00
£9.00
An enthralling account of Henry VIII's controversial dissolution of the monasteries.

Council of Egypt

Paperback, 01/12/2016, £10.00
£9.00
A tale of power, corruption and forgery set in a Sicily ripe for reform.

Jest of God

Paperback, 09/03/2017, £10.00
£9.00
A duty-ridden woman dreams of breaking free from her small-town chains.

Paradise Valley

Hardback, 25/07/2017, £18.99
£17.09
Investigator Cassie Dewell's three-year hunt for the serial killer known as 'The Lizard King' comes to a climax.

Company K

Paperback, 09/03/2017, £10.00
£9.00
An unflinching portrait of a US Marine company in WWI, written by a decorated army hero.

Now in November

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
First published in 1934, NOW IN NOVEMBER is American author Josephine W. Johnson's lyrical and an indelible portrait of the Depression and Dust Bowl years in America.

Lost Europeans

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
First published in 1960, THE LOST EUROPEANS is British author Emanuel Litvinoff's story of an inverse pilgrimage: that of a Jewish man to a resurgent, post-war Berlin.

Bosnian Chronicle

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
First published in 1945, this is Bosnian author Ivo Andric's saga of turbulent imperial forces played out through the fates of two men in a remote outpost of the Ottoman Empire.

Man Who Loved Children

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
Australian novelist Christina Stead's 1940 novel about the dysfunctional Pollitt family.

Delta Wedding

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
First published in 1946, DELTA WEDDING is legendary American author Eudora Welty's portrait of family life in the American South during the 1920s.

Day of Judgment

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
£9.00
Around the turn of the twentieth century, in the isolated Sardinian town of Nuoro, the aristocratic notary Don Sebastiano Sanna reflects on his life, his family's history and the fortunes of this provincial backwater where he has lived out his days.

Nebuly Coat

Paperback, 01/12/2016, £10.00
£9.00
A young architect is sent to a remote town to supervise the restoration of its Minster.

Hungry Grass

Paperback, 08/09/2016, £10.00
£9.00
A quiet, engaging novel about the death of a priest in 1950s Ireland and a world on the cusp of change.

Stone Angel

Paperback, 08/09/2016, £10.00
£9.00
As she approaches her death, Hagar Shipley - an irascible, independent nonagenarian - rages against the dying of the light.

Ice Saints

Paperback, 04/05/2017, £10.00
£9.00
An award-winning novel depicting life in Poland behind the Iron Curtain.

South Wind

Paperback, 09/03/2017, £12.00
£10.80
An Anglican bishop, on recuperative leave from his African diocese, alights at the island of Nepthene for a short stay on passage to England, and is soon caught in the midst of a wild and exuberant cast of fellow visitors and residents.

Pachinko

Paperback, 03/08/2017, £8.99
£8.09
A victorian epic transplanted to Japan, following a Korean family of immigrants through eight decades and four generations.

Letty Fox: Her Luck

Paperback, 04/05/2017, £14.00
£12.60
Letty Fox talks us through her search for marital bliss in 1930s New York and London.

Langrishe, Go Down

Paperback, 13/07/2017, £10.00
£9.00
Set against the backdrop of 1930s Europe, Higgin's classic novel depicts the demise of the old order of power in Ireland.

Frankenstein 3ed

Paperback, 06/04/2016, £10.99
£9.89

War

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £8.99
£8.09

Fear

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £8.99
£8.09

Innocence

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £8.99
£8.09

Trickery

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £8.99
£8.09

Cut Short

Paperback, 30/06/2018, £8.99
£8.09

Ernesto

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £10.00
£9.00
A coming-of-age story set in fin de siecle Trieste.

Free Food for Millionaires

Paperback, 01/08/2017, £14.99
£13.49
A young woman is torn between her Korean heritage and American upbringing. Min Jin Lee's acclaimed debut novel.

Bogmail

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £8.99
£8.09
A slice of crazed, rural, Irish gothic: the tale of murder in a small Irish village in Donegal, Bogmail is a classic of modern Irish literature.

City of Circles

Hardback, 08/08/2017, £17.99
£16.19
A magical love story between two circus performers, for fans of Angela Carter and Erin Morgenstern by Costa-shortlisted author Jess Richards.

Do Not Become Alarmed

Paperback, 06/07/2017, £8.99
£8.09

 

 

Twitter
Secure Payments
 
 
Payment Method