close
Navigation
Categories

Novels & Short Stories

View as
Sort by
Display per page

How I Became a North Korean

Paperback, 03/08/2017, £8.99
Between North Korea and China, three young lives converge in the hope of a better future. Yongju is an accomplished student from a prominent but disgraced family; Jangmi has had to fend for herself since childhood, and now has her unborn child to protect; Danny is a Chinese-American teenager who yearns for the China of his childhood.

Justine

Paperback, 03/08/2017, £8.99
Part of a series, this title tells the story of the mysterious and charismatic Justine as told by her lover, an impoverished Irish teacher who has sought refuge across the Mediterranean in Greece. It is a love story, but the real heroine is its setting: the city of Alexandria.

White City

Paperback, 03/08/2017, £7.99
An immediate bestseller upon publication in Sweden, The White City is an arresting and intimate novel of betrayal and empowerment from a bold, fearless writer.

Taduno's Song

Paperback, 03/08/2017, £8.99
'Burning with magic and loss, exile and return, beauty and heartache, Taduno's Song is a colossal epic, disguised as a small novel' - MARLON JAMES, Booker Prize-winning author of A Brief History of Seven Killings

Hawkline Monster: A Gothic Western

Paperback, 03/08/2017, £8.99
A magical adventure through Eastern Oregon, The Hawkline Monster confirms Richard Brautigan's place as one of the twentieth century's most exciting writers

Dreaming of Babylon: A Private Eye Novel 1942

Paperback, 03/08/2017, £8.99
'An absolute original' Guardian

So the Wind Won't Blow It All Away

Paperback, 03/08/2017, £8.99
'Poetic, gently eccentric and deeply poignant' THE TIMES

Beautiful Young Wife

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £7.99

Testing

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £7.99
It's graduation day for sixteen-year-old Malencia Vale, and the entire Five Lakes Colony (the former Great Lakes) is celebrating.

Selection Day

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £8.99
A moving and beautifully observed novel, of adolescence, ambition and self-realization, of fathers and sons, set in contemporary Bombay, by the Man Booker Prize winning author of The White Tiger and Last Man in Tower.

Before You Go

Paperback, 27/07/2017, £7.99
This story starts with an ending. But this ending is just the beginning.

Room by the Lake

Hardback, 10/08/2017, £14.99
Sophisticated thriller about a young woman drawn in by a cult.

Testimony

Hardback, 27/07/2017, £18.99
Four hundred dead. Only one witness. Scott Turow is back tackling his biggest case yet in The Hague . . .

Pitards

Paperback, 31/08/2017, £10.99

Samurai

Paperback, 03/08/2017, £9.99

Too Like the Lightning

Hardback, 13/07/2017, £18.99
The year is 2454: Earth's hard-won utopian society is threatened by a young boy with apparently god-like powers.

My Son, My Son

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
First published in 1938, MY SON, MY SON is bestselling British author Howard Spring's multigenerational portrait of a relationship between father and son.

Authentic Death of Hendry Jones

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
A stark and violent exploration of an American myth, this is a novel about the doomed gunslinger Billy the Kid.

Jest of God

Paperback, 09/03/2017, £10.00
A duty-ridden woman dreams of breaking free from her small-town chains.

Company K

Paperback, 09/03/2017, £10.00
An unflinching portrait of a US Marine company in WWI, written by a decorated army hero.

Bosnian Chronicle

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
First published in 1945, this is Bosnian author Ivo Andric's saga of turbulent imperial forces played out through the fates of two men in a remote outpost of the Ottoman Empire.

Delta Wedding

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
First published in 1946, DELTA WEDDING is legendary American author Eudora Welty's portrait of family life in the American South during the 1920s.

Day of Judgment

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £10.00
Around the turn of the twentieth century, in the isolated Sardinian town of Nuoro, the aristocratic notary Don Sebastiano Sanna reflects on his life, his family's history and the fortunes of this provincial backwater where he has lived out his days.

Nebuly Coat

Paperback, 01/12/2016, £10.00
A young architect is sent to a remote town to supervise the restoration of its Minster.

Hungry Grass

Paperback, 08/09/2016, £10.00
A quiet, engaging novel about the death of a priest in 1950s Ireland and a world on the cusp of change.

Stone Angel

Paperback, 08/09/2016, £10.00
As she approaches her death, Hagar Shipley - an irascible, independent nonagenarian - rages against the dying of the light.

Pachinko

Paperback, 03/08/2017, £8.99
A victorian epic transplanted to Japan, following a Korean family of immigrants through eight decades and four generations.

Letty Fox: Her Luck

Paperback, 04/05/2017, £14.00
Letty Fox talks us through her search for marital bliss in 1930s New York and London.

Langrishe, Go Down

Paperback, 13/07/2017, £10.00
Set against the backdrop of 1930s Europe, Higgin's classic novel depicts the demise of the old order of power in Ireland.

Frankenstein 3ed

Paperback, 06/04/2016, £10.99

War

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £8.99

Fear

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £8.99

Innocence

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £8.99

Trickery

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £8.99

Ernesto

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £10.00
A coming-of-age story set in fin de siecle Trieste.

Bogmail

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £8.99
A slice of crazed, rural, Irish gothic: the tale of murder in a small Irish village in Donegal, Bogmail is a classic of modern Irish literature.

Do Not Become Alarmed

Paperback, 06/07/2017, £8.99

City of Circles

Hardback, 08/08/2017, £17.99
A magical love story between two circus performers, for fans of Angela Carter and Erin Morgenstern by Costa-shortlisted author Jess Richards.

Under a Pole Star

Paperback, 10/08/2017, £7.99
A panoramic historical epic and an unforgettable love story from the author of the Costa-winning The Tenderness of Wolves, for fans of Sarah Perry, Jessie Burton and Donna Tartt

Kill Me Twice

Paperback, 24/08/2017, £7.99
'Booker's fast paced, twisting thrillers are a must-read for anyone who loves a good page turner' Simon Kernick'A must-read' Mark BillinghamKarl Savage is dead.

Fisher King

Paperback, 12/03/2015, £8.99
Celebrated but crippled photographer, Saul Henchman sets out to cruise the British Isles in search of peace and fulfilment. Beautiful dancer, Barberina Rookwood gives up her career to be with him.

Lady and the Unicorn

Paperback, 01/12/2006, £8.99
From the bestselling author of Girl with a Pearl Earring comes a historical tale of love, sex and revenge.

Burning Bright

Paperback, 04/02/2008, £8.99
Flames and funerals, circus feats and seduction, neighbours and nakedness: a sparkling historical drama from the bestselling author of Girl with a Pearl Earring.

Falling Angels

Paperback, 01/07/2006, £8.99
Will friendship overcome the social boundaries of Edwardian London in this bestselling historical tale perfect for fans of Audrey Niffenegger and Sarah Waters.

Girl With a Pearl Earring

Paperback, 20/06/2006, £8.99
An international bestseller with over two million copies sold, this is a story of an artist's desire for beauty and the ultimate corruption of innocence.

Dance to the Music of Time Volume 4 - Winter

Paperback, 02/10/1997, £20.00
Presenting a chronicle of over three hundred characters, this volume contains last three novels of twelve novel sequence.

Dance to the Music of Time Volume 3 - Autumn

Paperback, 02/10/1997, £20.00
Anthony Powell's brilliant twelve-novel sequence chronicles the lives of over three hundred characters, and is a unique evocation of life in twentieth-century England. It is unrivalled for its scope, its humour and the enormous pleasure it has given to generations.

Jane Austen: A Brief Life

Paperback, 04/07/2017, £8.99

To the Wedding

Paperback, 01/04/2009, £9.99
A devasting and unforgettable story of doomed love from the winner of the Booker Prize, reissued with a new introduction by Nadeem Aslam

Debutante and Other Stories

Paperback, 06/04/2017, £9.99

Beside Myself

Paperback, 14/07/2016, £7.99
As gripping as Room, as powerful as Elizabeth is Missing, Beside Myself is the story of twin sisters, a childhood game with devastating consequences and the slippery nature of identity Helen and Ellie are identical twins - like two peas in a pod, everyone says. The girls know this isn't true, though: Helen is the leader and Ellie the follower. Until they decide to swap places: just for fun, and just for one day. But Ellie refuses to swap back...And so begins a nightmare from which Helen cannot wake up. Her toys, her clothes, her friends, her glowing record at school, the favour of her mother and the future she had dreamed of are all gone to a sister who blossoms in the approval that used to belong to Helen. And as the years pass, she loses not only her memory of that day but also herself - until eventually only 'Smudge' is left. Twenty-five years later, Smudge receives a call from out of the blue. It threatens to pull her back into her sister's dangerous orbit, but if this is her only chance to face the past, how can she resist?Beside Myself is a compulsive and darkly brilliant psychological drama about family and identity - what makes us who we are and how very fragile it can be.
Twitter
Secure Payments
 
 
Payment Method