close
Navigation
Categories

Novels & Short Stories

View as
Sort by
Display per page

Spring

Hardback, 28/03/2019, £16.99
£15.29

Lightning Mary

Paperback, 04/04/2019, £6.99
£6.29
The only survivor is a baby - Mary Anning. Ignoring other people's taunts, Mary faces danger to bring back valuable treasures to help feed her family. Mary must depend upon her unique courage and knowledge to fulfil her dream of becoming a scientist in a time when girls have no opportunities for such ambitions.

Warlight

Paperback, 04/04/2019, £8.99
£8.09
'Our book of the year - and maybe of Ondaatje's career' Daily Telegraph Books of the Year**LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2018**It is 1945, and London is still reeling from the Blitz.

Penguin Book of Japanese Short Stories

Paperback, 04/04/2019, £10.99
£9.89

Territory of Light

Paperback, 04/04/2019, £8.99
£8.09

Frolic of the Beasts

Paperback, 04/04/2019, £8.99
£8.09

Washington Black

Paperback, 04/04/2019, £8.99
£8.09

Kudos

Paperback, 04/04/2019, £8.99
£8.09
Once she reaches her destination, the conversations she has with the people she meets - about art, about family, about politics, about love, about sorrow and joy, about justice and injustice - include the most far-reaching questions human beings ask.

Painter to the King

Paperback, 04/04/2019, £8.99
£8.09

West

Paperback, 04/04/2019, £8.99
£8.09

Leila

Paperback, 04/04/2019, £8.99
£8.09
Every year on Leila's birthday Shalini kneels by the wall with a little yellow spade and scoops dry earth to make a pit for two candles.

Sisters Brothers

Paperback, 04/03/2019, £8.99
£8.09

Beneath the World, a Sea

Hardback, 04/04/2019, £17.99
£16.19
A hugely ambitious, genre-defying novel about humanity and the secrets of the unconscious mind, by an Arthur C. Clarke Award-winner.

House of Stone

Paperback, 04/04/2019, £8.99
£8.09
'Easily the best debut I've read this year, Tshuma's novel is both hilarious and horrifying, filled with compassion, anger and despair. [Her] unreliable narrator [is] of the kind that deserves to be remembered up there with Humbert Humbert' Kim Evans, Culturefly

Ayesha at Last

Paperback, 04/04/2019, £7.99
£7.19
A big-hearted, captivating, modern-day Muslim Pride and Prejudice, with hijabs instead of top hats and kurtas instead of corsets.

Garden of Evening Mists

Paperback, 28/02/2019, £8.99
£8.09
Tan Twan Eng's rich, absorbing, internationally bestselling, Man Booker-shortlisted epic

One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich

Paperback, 30/11/2000, £7.99
£7.19
Discover the importance of a piece of bread or an extra bowl of soup, the incredible luxury of a book, a piece of string or a single match in a world where survival is all. This work lets you participate in the struggle of men to survive both the terrible rigours of nature and the inhumanity of the system that defines their conditions of life.

Dandelions

Paperback, 04/04/2019, £8.99
£8.09

Star

Paperback, 04/04/2019, £2.99
£2.69

Overstory: Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2018

Paperback, 11/04/2019, £8.99
£8.09
SHORTLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2018The Overstory unfolds in concentric rings of interlocking fables that range from antebellum New York to the late twentieth-century Timber Wars of the Pacific Northwest and beyond:An Air Force loadmaster in the Vietnam War is shot out of the sky, then saved by falling into a banyan.

Labels and Other Stories

Hardback, 11/04/2019, £16.99
£15.29
Louis de Bernieres is one of our most treasured writers and these stories show his imaginative range and unique storytelling power. De Bernieres' unlikely and unforgettable heroes are found collecting luxury tinned cat-food labels, posting fish to the President, falling in love with dolphin deities and dining with Brazilian street thieves.

Parisian

Hardback, 11/04/2019, £14.99
£13.49
`A sublime reading experience: delicate, restrained, surpassingly intelligent, uncommonly poised and truly beautiful' Zadie Smith As the First World War shatters families, destroys friendships and kills lovers, a young Palestinian dreamer sets out to find himself.

Throne of Caesar

Paperback, 05/03/2019, £8.99
£8.09
In The Throne of Caesar, award-winning mystery author Steven Saylor turns to the most famous murder in history: It's Rome, 44 AD, and the Ides of March are approaching.

Sword of Justice

Paperback, 07/02/2019, £8.99
£8.09
1367. Europe is on the brink of total war, and William Gold is right where he belongs - at the heart of the action

Good Terrorist

Paperback, 17/01/2013, £9.99
£8.99
A group of squatters rebel against Mrs Thatcher and erupt into violence in this politicised novel from the author of `The Golden Notebook'.

My Brother's Name is Jessica

Hardback, 18/04/2019, £12.99
£11.69

Acts of My Mother

Paperback, 18/04/2019, £9.99
£8.99
A son investigates his mother's past in this moving novel of family, lies, betrayal and forgiveness.

Book of Dreams

Hardback, 18/04/2019, £14.99
£13.49
The wonderful new novel from the acclaimed and bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Little Breton Bistro, translated by Simon Pare.

Thirty-Three Teeth

Paperback, 01/04/2010, £9.99
£8.99
Laos' reluctant national coroner, confused psychic, and disheartened communist returns for a second case, employing his forensic skills and spiritual acumen to solve a series of bizarre killings.

Machines Like Me

Hardback, 18/04/2019, £18.99
£12.99
Britain has lost the Falklands war, Margaret Thatcher battles Tony Benn for power and Alan Turing achieves a breakthrough in artificial intelligence. This near-perfect human is beautiful, strong and clever - a love triangle soon forms.

Sunfall

Hardback, 18/04/2019, £16.99
£12.99
Our planet seems to be turning against itself - it would appear that the magnetic field, that protects life on Earth from deadly radiation from space, is failing .

Sadness Is a White Bird: A Novel

Paperback, 01/03/2019, £9.99
£8.99

Seven Autopsies of Nora Hanneman: Stories

Paperback, 30/04/2017, £18.50
£16.65
The nineteen stories in The Seven Autopsies of Nora Hanneman track the splintered trajectory of the title character, tracing a chicken-scratch line of psychosexual development from childhood to old age.

Water Cure

Paperback, 25/04/2019, £8.99
£6.99

Forest of Wool and Steel

Hardback, 16/04/2019, £9.99
£8.99
What he experienced that day wasn't life-changing .Under the tutelage of three master piano-tuners - one humble, one cheery, one ill-tempered - Tomura embarks on his training, never straying too far from a single, unfathomable question: do I have what it takes?

Betrayals

Paperback, 14/04/2015, £8.99
£8.09
'Rewarding, inventive and enjoyably perplexing' Sunday Times

Honeyfield Bequest

Paperback, 16/02/2017, £7.99
£7.19
1901, Wiltshire. Young Kathleen Keller is being forced into marriage with a man she despises by her cruel father. In an act of desperation, she runs away in a bid for a safer life. But when tragedy strikes, Kathleen is left vulnerable and one man threatens the fragile peace she has made for herself.

Stranger In Honeyfield

Paperback, 20/07/2017, £8.99
£8.09
1916: Bella is working as a Voluntary Aid driving ambulances in England when she gets engaged to Philip, on leave from fighting in France. His family strongly disapprove of her but the two of them are happy together. When the worst happens, Bella must manage on her own, though there are shocks and dangers she did not foresee ahead.

Peace Comes to Honeyfield

Paperback, 18/04/2019, £8.99
£8.09
It's Armistice Day in London, but enemy forces have infiltrated the bureau and sent Georgie's father into hiding. In danger herself, Georgie knows there's only one place where she'll be safe: Honeyfield. But with traitors in the bureau, she doesn't know who to trust. Can she get to Honeyfield before her father's enemies find her?

Common People: An Anthology of Working-Class Writers

Paperback, 01/05/2019, £9.99
£8.99
A celebration of working-class voices, bringing together established and emerging writers including Kit de Waal, Malorie Blackman, Cathy Rentzenbrink, Louise Doughty and Lisa McInerney

I Who Have Never Known Men

Paperback, 02/05/2019, £8.99
£8.09
'A small miracle' The New York Times`For a very long time, the days went by, each just like the day before, then I began to think, and everything changed'Deep underground, thirty-nine women live imprisoned in a cage.

Love is Blind

Paperback, 02/05/2019, £8.99
£8.09

My Sister, the Serial Killer

Hardback, 26/10/2018, £12.99
£11.69

Arturo's Island

Paperback, 02/05/2019, £9.99
£8.99

Disco for the departed

Paperback, 02/10/2008, £9.99
£8.99
Reluctant coroner to the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Dr Siri Paiboun has been despatched to the country's mountainous north where the sudden appearance of a mummified arm protruding from a concrete path laid in front of the President's new mansion has caused an understandable degree of embarrassment

Convenience Store Woman

Paperback, 02/05/2019, £8.99
£8.09

Heavens

Hardback, 15/04/2019, £12.99
£11.69

He Is Mine and I Have No Other

Paperback, 02/05/2019, £8.99
£8.09
A dark and intense debut about the overwhelming nature of first love from a brilliant new voice in Irish fiction

Art of Hearing Heartbeats

Paperback, 01/02/2013, £8.99
£8.09
For readers who enjoyed 'The Snow Child' and 'The Glass Palace' this is an intoxicating and lush love story, set in present-day New York and 1950s Burma.

My Year of Rest and Relaxation

Paperback, 02/05/2019, £8.99
£8.09
FROM THE MAN BOOKER-SHORTLISTED AUTHOR OF EILEENTHE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER'Savage, funny, frequently on the verge of teetering into lunacy... My Year of Rest and Relaxation is a non-negotiable in your holiday carry-on this summer' VogueIt's the year 2000 in a city aglitter with wealth and possibility;

 

 

Twitter
Secure Payments
 
 
Payment Method