close
Navigation
Categories
BBC National Short Story Award 2021
  BBC National Short Story Award 2021
Signed Books - Save 50%
  
Secure Payments
 
 
Payment Method
 
 

Environment

View as
Sort by
Display per page

Living Mountain: A Celebration of the Cairngorm Mountains of Scotland

Hardback, 01/08/2019, £14.99
£13.49
A beautiful, collectable gift edition of the masterpiece of Scottish nature writing. Introduced by Robert Macfarlane and with an afterword by Jeanette Winterson

Notes from Walnut Tree Farm

Paperback, 25/06/2009, £9.99
£8.99
For the last six years of his life, Roger Deakin kept notebooks in which he wrote his daily thoughts, impressions, feelings and observations about and around his home, Walnut Tree Farm. This title collects his writings, capturing his restless curiosity about nature and his impressions of our changing world.

Secret Network of Nature: The Delicate Balance of All Living Things

Paperback, 05/09/2019, £9.99
£8.99
From the bestselling author of The Hidden Life of Trees Did you know that trees can influence the rotation of the earth?

On Fire: The Burning Case for a Green New Deal

Hardback, 17/09/2019, £20.00
£18.00

RISINGTIDEFALLINGSTAR

Paperback, 14/06/2018, £9.99
£9.00
Rich and strange from the tip of its title to its deep-sunk bones' Robert Macfarlane From the author of Leviathan, or, The Whale, comes a composite portrait of the subtle, beautiful, inspired and demented ways in which we have come to terms with our watery planet.

Seven Worlds One Planet

Hardback, 26/09/2019, £25.00
£22.50
From the jungle of the Congo or the majestic Himalayas to the densely populated wilds of Europe or the comparatively isolated Australasia, Seven Worlds, One Planet explores the natural wonders that give each of our continents its distinct character.

There Is No Planet B: A Handbook for the Make or Break Years

Paperback, 28/02/2019, £9.99
£8.99
Escaping to Planet B to avoid environmental catastrophe is pure fantasy. This book is for anyone who yearns for a realistic alternative to the destructive path the world is on at the moment, and wants practical advice on how they can make things better.

New Wild: Why invasive species will be nature's salvation

Paperback, 02/06/2016, £9.99
£9.00
A provocative exploration of the `new ecology' and why most of what we think we know about alien species is wrong

Fallout: A Journey Through the Nuclear Age, From the Atom Bomb to Radioactive Waste

Paperback, 07/02/2019, £9.99
£9.00
An eye-opening journey through the disasters and triumphs of the nuclear age - and a critical assessment of the nuclear future.

Letters to the Earth: Writing to a Planet in Crisis

Hardback, 14/11/2019, £10.00
£9.00
Creation is the antidote to despair. 'All power to this amazing project.' Joanne Harris 'We all need to read this book.' Magid Magid 'A must read for anyone who lives on earth.' Bella Lack

No More Rubbish Excuses: Simple ways to reduce your waste and make a difference - your planet needs you!

Paperback, 07/01/2020, £7.99
£7.19
Litter on our streets, plastics in our seas, overflowing landfill, fatbergs...Expert environmental campaigner Martin Dorey looks at what we recycle, what we bin, what we take to the tip - plastics, food, clothing, electricals and furniture - where it goes and what it really does to our planet.

Case for the Green New Deal

Hardback, 17/09/2019, £12.99
£11.69
What is the Green New Deal and How Can We afford it?

Birds: An Anthology

Hardback, 05/06/2020, £16.99
£15.29
This rich anthology brings together poetry and prose in celebration of birds, records their behaviour, flight, song and migration, across the seasons and in different habitats - and our own interaction with them. Perfect for bird-lovers and anyone who has taken comfort or joy in a bird in flight.

Birds They Sang: Birds and People in Life and Art

Hardback, 02/04/2020, £12.99
£11.69
A beautiful, inspirational read, this is a fresh addition to the increasingly popular nature writing canon. A lyrical exploration our relationship with birds. The book won the readers' vote for the Nike award 2017, Poland's most prestigious literary prize. A must read for fans of Robert MacFarlane, Roger Deaken and Helen MacDonald.

Private Life of the Hare

Hardback, 17/10/2019, £9.99
£8.99
THE PERFECT STOCKING FILLER FOR NATURE LOVERS 'To see a hare sit still as stone, to watch a hare boxing on a frosty March morning, to witness a hare bolt . They are arrogant, as in Aesop's The Hare and the Tortoise, and absurd, as in Lewis Carroll's Mad March Hare.

Wild Silence

Hardback, 30/04/2020, £14.99
£13.49

Climate Change and the Voiceless: Protecting Future Generations, Wildlife, and Natural Resources

Paperback, 24/10/2019, £26.99
£24.29
Abate identifies the common vulnerabilities of the voiceless - future generations, wildlife, and natural resources - and demonstrates how the law can evolve to protect their interests more effectively. This book will appeal to anyone interested in how the law can mitigate the effects of climate change on those who stand to lose the most.

Empty Planet: The Shock of Global Population Decline

Paperback, 06/02/2020, £10.99
£9.89
For half a century, statisticians, pundits and politicians have warned that population growth is spiraling out of control, threatening to overwhelm the earth's resources. They are wrong. Empty Planet shows why exactly the opposite will soon be upon us.

Future We Choose: Surviving the Climate Crisis

Hardback, 25/02/2020, £12.99
£11.69
I hope it is widely read and acted on' Jane Goodall, PhD, DBE, Founder of the Jane Goodall Institute and UN Messenger of Peace The Future We Choose is a passionate call to arms, written by former UN Secretary for Climate Christiana Figures and Tom Rivett-Carnac, her UN political strategist.

Grassling

Paperback, 23/04/2020, £9.99
£8.99

Climate Rebels

Hardback, 15/04/2020, £12.99
£11.69

Way Home: Tales from a life without technology

Paperback, 05/03/2020, £9.99
£8.99
It was 11pm when I checked my email for the last time and turned off my phone for what I hoped would be forever.

Moral Ground: Ethical Action for a Planet in Peril

Paperback, 27/09/2011, £13.99
£12.59
Bringing together the testimony of over 80 visionaries--from religious leaders to scientists to elected officials--this book encourages a newly discovered, or rediscovered, commitment to consensus about our ethical obligation to the future and why it's wrong to wreck the world.

Under the Stars: A Journey Into Light

Hardback, 20/02/2020, £12.99
£11.69
An inspirational and immersive travelogue exploring the power of natural light.

Animism: Respecting the Living World

Paperback, 03/08/2017, £14.99
£13.49
Graham Harvey explores current and past animistic beliefs and practices of Native Americans, Maori, Aboriginal Australians, and eco-pagans. He considers the varieties of animism found in these cultures as well as their shared desire to live respectfully within larger natural communities.

Rainforest: Dispatches from Earth's Most Vital Frontlines

Paperback, 05/03/2020, £12.99
£11.69
Rainforests are key to the health of our world - they maintain the water and air cycles, store carbon, and have yielded countless numbers of medical drugs. We have already destroyed half their area. We need urgently to save the half that's left. This book explains why - and how.

Way to the Sea: The Forgotten Histories of the Thames Estuary

Paperback, 05/03/2020, £9.99
£8.99
From a writer who grew up on the Estuary, this is a fresh take on the Thames, from source to sea

Five Rules for Rebellion: Let's Change the World Ourselves

Hardback, 05/03/2020, £12.99
£11.69
5 Rules for Rebellion from the Founding Leader of the Women's Equality Party

Some Assembly Required: Decoding Four Billion Years of Life, from Ancient Fossils to DNA

Hardback, 19/03/2020, £18.99
£17.09
Nothing begins when you thought it did...

Britain's Trees: A Treasury of Traditions, Superstitions, Remedies and Literature

Hardback, 05/03/2020, £12.99
£11.69
A cornucopia of some of Britain's oldest and most beloved native trees, this book weaves together their rich history, folklore and traditions.

Our Isles : Poems celebrating the art of rural trades and traditions

Hardback, 05/03/2020, £9.99
£8.99
From baker, beekeeper and birdwatcher to falconer, farrier and forager, join poet Angus and printmaker Lilly as they explore the British Isles, uncovering and celebrating our crafts and traditions.

Short Runs in Beautiful Places: 100 Spectacular Routes

Paperback, 05/03/2020, £12.99
£11.69
100 short runs - ranging from 1 to 10 miles - ideal for beginners and experienced runners alike and travelling through beautiful countryside of all kinds, from ancient woodland and meadows studded with wildflowers to rugged headlands with uninterrupted views of the sea.

Land of Maybe: A Faroe Islands Year

Hardback, 12/03/2020, £14.99
£13.49
These dispatches from the wind and salt-blown islands at 62 degrees north offer delicious escapism. A beautiful evocation of landscape and nature, it is, above all, a portrait of a community which maintains a deep connection with its past.

Be Plastic Clever

Paperback, 04/05/2020, £6.99
£6.29

Secrets in the Cotswolds: Mystery and intrigue in the beautiful Cotswold countryside

Paperback, 21/05/2020, £8.99
£8.09
Thea Slocombe is tired of having to entertain Drew's children, so she accepts a commission to watch over a house in Barnsley. However, her return to house-sitting is far from relaxing as on her first night she finds a fugitive woman hiding among some bushes...

Bird Therapy

Paperback, 16/04/2020, £9.99
£8.99
A guide to how birdwatching can improve your wellbeing, featuring an introduction from Chris Packham

The Age of Islands: In Search of New and Disappearing Islands

Hardback, 07/05/2020, £16.99
£15.29
A fascinating exploration of new and disappearing islands around the world, by the author of Off the Map.
Canterbury Festival 2021
  Canterbury Festival
Twitter