close
Navigation
Categories

Travel

View as
Sort by
Display per page

Stopping Places: A Journey Through Gypsy Britain

Hardback, 07/06/2018, £14.99
£13.49
'I needed to get to the stopping places, so I needed to get on the road. Through winter frosts and summer dawns, from horse fairs to Gypsy churches, neon-lit lay-bys to fern-covered banks, Damian lives on the road, somewhere between the romanticised Gypsies of old, and their much-maligned descendants of today.

Phantom Islands

Hardback, 29/04/2019, £14.99
£13.49
Beautifully illustrated with coloured maps and charts, Phantom Islands shows the cunning of imposters and frauds, the earnestness of explorers searching for knowledge, and the pleasure that can be found in our willingness to deceive and to be deceived.

DK Eyewitness Travel Guide Croatia

Paperback, 20/02/2017, £13.99
£12.59

Travelling Light: Journeys Among Special People and Places

Hardback, 06/07/2017, £20.00
£18.00
A charming and beautifully written account of the pleasures of slow travel - for readers of Patrick Leigh Fermor, Colin Thubron and Eric Newby.

Black Apples of Gower

Paperback, 08/07/2016, £10.00
£9.00
Iain Sinclair, the celebrated author, walks back along the blue-grey roads and the cliff-top paths of his childhood in south Wales, rediscovering the Gower peninsula.

Volunteer: A Traveller's Guide to Making a Difference Around the World

Paperback, 14/07/2017, £12.99
£11.69
Volunteer is packed with invaluable information and inspiration to get you planning your perfect short, or long-term volunteer experience. Whether it's monitoring sea turtles in Greece, helping establish handicraft businesses in Ghana or building community centres in Guatemala, you'll find opportunities in this updated, comprehensive new edition.

Icebreaker: A Voyage Far North

Hardback, 09/11/2017, £14.99
£13.49
'We are celebrating a hundred years since independence this year: how would you like to travel on a government icebreaker?' A message from the Finnish embassy launches Horatio Clare on a voyage around an extraordinary country and an unearthly place, the frozen Bay of Bothnia, just short of the Arctic circle.

Watling Street: Travels Through Britain and Its Ever-Present Past

Hardback, 13/07/2017, £18.99
£17.09
A journey along one of Britain's oldest roads, from Dover to Anglesey, in search of the hidden history that makes us who we are today.

DK Eyewitness Travel Guide England's South Coast

Paperback, 19/06/2017, £13.99
£12.59

Tornado Chasers

Paperback, 03/07/2014, £6.99
£6.29
When Owen Underwood's family move to Barrow, it's because there's nowhere safer in the Valleys - and safety is very important. Especially when the threat of tornadoes, and giant bears, is constant. But in Barrow, safety is taken to extremes. Children have to wear bright yellow at all times and are never allowed outside except to go to school.

Modern Explorers

Hardback, 09/09/2013, £24.95
£22.46
Exploration has never been more popular and any idea that there is nowhere left to explore is instantly disproved by the contemporary explorers who are showcased here. This title deals with this topic.

Landmarks

Paperback, 05/05/2016, £9.99
£8.99
Words are grained into our landscapes, and landscapes are grained into our words. Landmarks is about the power of language to shape our sense of place. This is a guide to literature of nature, and a glossary containing thousands of remarkable words used in England, Scotland, Ireland and Wales to describe land, nature and weather.

Island Home: A Landscape Memoir

Paperback, 04/05/2017, £8.99
£8.09
A wise, passionate and compelling investigation into how our landscape makes us who we are.

Walking Away

Paperback, 05/05/2016, £8.99
£8.09
From the surreal pleasure dome of Minehead Butlins to a smoke-filled roundhouse on the Penwith Peninsula then out to the Isles of Scilly and beyond, the author tackles this personal Odyssey with all the poetic reflection and personal wit we've come to expect of one of Britain's best loved and most popular writers.

Britannia Obscura

Paperback, 19/11/2015, £9.99
£8.99
From investigations of caves and megaliths to canals and airspace, this book reveals a country with countless competing centres and ceaselessly shifting borders - a land where one person's sleepy, unexceptional province will always be the busy heart of another's map. It opens our eyes to the layered landscape of a very large small island.

London by Tube: Over 80 Intriguing Short Walks Minutes Away from London's Tube Stops

Hardback, 07/04/2016, £9.99
£8.99
Did you know that. From Stonebridge Park on the Bakerloo Line you can walk to the largest Hindu temple in Europe? London is a city of surprises and variety, over 600 square miles packed full of character. This book unearths and explores a range of interesting places all within an easy walk of a Tube station.

Lonely Planet Best of Paris: 2017

Paperback, 09/09/2016, £13.99
£12.59
Lonely Planet Best of Paris is your passport to the Paris's top sights and most authentic experiences. Visit the world's largest museum, experience the dazzling views of the Eiffel Tower and check out the gargoyles at Notre Dame; all with your trusted travel companion.

Great Outdoors: A User's Guide: Everything You Need to Know Before Heading into the Wild (and How to Get Back in One Piece)

Hardback, 01/04/2017, £18.99
£17.09
This easy introduction to outdoor life will ensure that even a novice won't get lost in the woods while finding an activity he loves to do in the great outdoors. With 400 strategies for engaging in the outdoors, and expert tips and tricks, The Great Outdoors: A User's Guide makes Mother Nature easier to understand than ever before.

Leaping Hare

Paperback, 06/04/2017, £8.99
£8.09
A book about every aspect of the life and legend of the wild hare. It explores the nature, poetry, folklore, history and art.

50 Greatest Walks of the World

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £8.99
£8.09
A personal view of the 50 finest perambulations available on the planet

White Nile Diaries

Hardback, 30/07/2014, £15.99
£14.39
It all began at the Oyster Bar in Grand Central Station, New York, in 1961...

Rome: Moods and Places

30/09/2013, £4.00
£3.60

New Orleans Good Times

31/10/2014, £4.00
£3.60

Europe on a Shoestring

Paperback, 14/10/2016, £17.99
£16.19
Lonely Planet Europe on a shoestring is your passport to having big experiences on a small budget, offering the most relevant, up-to-date advice on what to see and skip, what hidden discoveries await you and how to optimise your budget for an extended continental trip. Get to the heart of Europe and begin your journey now!

Lonely Planet Mexico

Paperback, 09/09/2016, £18.99
£17.09
Lonely Planet Mexico is your passport to the most relevant, up-to-date advice on what to see and skip, and what hidden discoveries await you. Explore the ancient Maya world, go horse-riding through fragrant pine forest, and experience Mexico City's hopping cultural scene; all with your trusted travel companion.

Granta 138: Journeys

Paperback, 09/02/2017, £12.99
£11.69

Passenger to Teheran

Paperback, 26/01/2007, £11.99
£10.79
In 1926 Vita Sackville-West travelled to Iran to visit her husband, Harold Nicolson, who was serving as a diplomat in Teheran. This work reveals the lesser-known side of one of the twentieth century's most luminous authors.

Swordfish and the Star: Life on Cornwall's Most Treacherous Stretch of Coast

Paperback, 04/05/2017, £8.99
£8.09
The Penwith Peninsula in Cornwall is where the land ends. In this book, the author takes us into this huddle of grey roofs at the edge of the sea at the beginning of the twenty-first century. It brings Cornwall and its seas to life, mixing drinking and drugs and sea spray, moonlit beaches and shattering storms, myth and urban myth.

H is for Hawk (The Birds and Bees)

Paperback, 05/05/2016, £9.99
£8.99
Tells the story of the author's struggle with grief during the difficult process of the hawk's taming and her own untaming.

Lonely Planet Italy

Paperback, 01/02/2016, £17.99
£16.19
Lonely Planet Italy is your passport to the most relevant, up-to-date advice on what to see and skip, and what hidden discoveries await you. Take in a gondolier's sweet song while gliding past Venetian palaces, sample olives and wines as you traverse Tuscany's storybook hills, or be humbled amid thousands of years of Roman history and art.

Lonely Planet Vietnam

Paperback, 03/08/2016, £15.99
£14.39
Lonely Planet Vietnam is your passport to the most relevant, up-to-date advice on what to see and skip, and what hidden discoveries await you. Eat, drink and shop til you drop in beautiful, ancient Hoi An; kite surf in Mui Ne; or visit the impressive pagodas and royal tombs of Hue; all with your trusted travel companion.

Lonely Planet Pocket Madrid

Paperback, 01/01/2016, £7.99
£7.19
Lonely Planet Pocket Madrid is your passport to the most relevant, up-to-date advice on what to see and skip, and what hidden discoveries await you. View the marvellous frescoes at Plaza Mayor, see Picasso's Guernica at the Reina Sofia, or have a picnic in Parque del Buen Retiro; all with your trusted travel companion.

Lonely Planet Provence & the Cote d'Azur

Paperback, 01/01/2016, £13.99
£12.59
Lonely Planet Provence & the Cote d?Azur is your passport to the most relevant, up-to-date advice on what to see and skip, and what hidden discoveries await you. Try local cheese and wine in hilltop villages overlooking lavender fields, relax on the beaches of St-Tropez, or try your luck in Monaco?s famous casino.

Lonely Planet Cambodia

Paperback, 03/08/2016, £15.99
£14.39
Lonely Planet Cambodia is your up-to-date advice on what to see and skip, and what hidden discoveries await you. Stand under the glimmering spires of the Royal Palace in Phnom Penh, trek the lush rainforest of the Koh Kong Conservation Corridor, or explore the floating village of Kompong Luong; all with your trusted travel companion.

Elephant Complex

Paperback, 04/08/2016, £10.99
£9.89
A Spectator Book of the Year 2015. From Ceylon to the Tamil Tigers, the first in-depth account of Sri Lanka by an award-winning travel writer.

Gods of the Morning A Bird's Eye View of a Highland Year

Paperback, 03/03/2016, £9.99
£8.99
A lyrical celebration of the British countryside from one of our best-known nature writers

Lonely Planet Norway

Paperback, 01/05/2015, £15.99
£14.39
Lonely Planet Norway is your passport to the most relevant, up-to-date advice on what to see and skip, and what hidden discoveries await you. Visit Norway's cultural capital, Oslo; hike to breathtaking Pulpit Rock; or savour the high Arctic in Svalbard - all with your trusted travel companion. Get to the heart of Norway and begin your journey now!

Pocket Rough Guide Dubai

Paperback, 01/09/2016, £7.99
£7.19

Lonely Planet Australia

Paperback, 01/11/2015, £19.99
£17.99
Lonely Planet Australia is your passport to the most relevant, up-to-date advice on what to see and skip, and what hidden discoveries await you. While away the day on Sydney's Bondi Beach; explore tropical jungle in ancient Daintree Rainforest; and experience the unique Indigenous culture of the Tiwi Islands.

 

 

Twitter
Secure Payments
 
 
Payment Method