View as
Sort by
Display per page

Beside the Ocean of Time

7, 07/08/1995, £9.99
Set in the Orkneys on the fictitious island of Norday, a young poet daydreams the history of the island and its people. He travels back in time to Viking adventures at the court of the Byzantine Emperor in Constantinople. Part of the 1995 Scottish Book Fortnight promotion.


Paperback, 31/08/2004, £7.99
This collection of stories demonstrates the full range of George Mackay Brown's literary talent. All of these sharply-etched fables deal with his perennial themes - love, violence, death and rebirth - and are set in an Orcadian world that spans myth and reality, past and present.


Paperback, 01/05/2005, £8.99
"Vinland", George Mackay Brown's fourth novel, follows the turbulent life of Ranald Sigmundson, a young boy born into the Dark Ages, when Orkney was torn between its Viking past and its Christian future.

Time to Keep

Paperback, 08/05/2006, £7.99
Presents stories that offer a range of emotions and incidents, exploring how the new and old collide and crash in a community as deeply rooted as Orkney's. 'Celia' portrays a woman who is shutting out the contemporary world, losing herself in an alcohol-fuelled haze which helps her rejects the horrors of Apartheid and the Vietnam War.

Calendar of Love

Paperback, 14/05/2006, £7.99
A collection of short stories, featuring several characters - the fishermen, the crofters, the farmers and the wild tinkers - all struggling to live their lives and find their identities in a harsh habitat and a cruel age.

For the Islands I Sing

Paperback, 30/06/2008, £7.99
George's memory is inseparable from Orkney, where he was born the youngest child of a poor family. Tuberculosis framed George's early life and kept him in a kind of limbo. He discovered alcohol which gave him insights into the workings of the mind. By the time of his death in 1996 he was recognised as one of the great writers of his country.