close
Navigation
Categories

Novels & Short Stories

View as
Sort by
Display per page

Imaginary Girlfriend: A Memoir

Paperback, 01/03/1997, £8.99
£8.09
Presents a portrait of the writers and wrestlers who played a mentor role in John Irving's development as a novelist, a wrestler and a wrestling coach. This book also gives a picture of a father's dedication to his children. It also details the interrelationship of the disciplines of writing and wrestling.

Widow for One Year

Paperback, 13/03/1999, £9.99
£8.99
'One night when she was four and sleeping in the bottom bunk of her bunk bed, Ruth Cole awoke to the sound of lovemaking - it was coming from her parents' bedroom'. This title tells the story of Ruth Cole.

Marrying the Mistress

Paperback, 16/12/2000, £9.99
£8.99
Merrion Palmer has been Judge Guy Stockdale's mistress for the last seven years and his wife and two grown-up sons know absolutely nothing about her. But now the time has come for things to change. Guy has become conscious of wasted years and he wants to share his relationship with Merrion with the world. He wants, dammit, to marry her.

Maybe the Moon

7, 01/09/2000, £9.99
£8.99
The tale of an outsider told from the inside. It speaks to the resilience of the human spirit. Cadence Roth holds the world record of shortest woman and is trying to renew her failed acting career, Maupin narrates the story through Cadence's journal entries.

Secret Scripture

Paperback, 29/01/2009, £7.99
£7.19
Nearing her one-hundredth birthday, Roseanne McNulty faces an uncertain future, as the Roscommon Regional Mental hospital where she's spent the best part of her adult life prepares for closure. Over the weeks leading up to this upheaval, she talks often with her psychiatrist Dr Grene, and their relationship intensifies and complicates.

Fragrant Harbour

Paperback, 05/06/2003, £8.99
£8.09
This is the story of four people whose intertwined lives span 70 years in Asia. The complacency of colonial life in the 1930s; the horrors of the Japanese occupation during World War II; and the post-war boom and transformation of Hong Kong all surface in this epic novel.

Brief Stay with the Living

Paperback, 07/10/2004, £6.99
£6.29
Marie Darrieussecq tells the story of a single day in the life of a mother and her three grown-up daughters. Now scattered between the South of France and Buenos Aires, all four women are still connected by an incident from their past - a terrible event that the story gradually reveals . . .

Long Time, No See

Hardback, 31/12/2006, £8.99
£8.09
Long time, no see introduces us to the unforgettable world of Mister Psyche. Hanging out with men some forty-plus years his senior proves hazardous for Mister Psyche when the appearance of a bullet-hole in Uncle Joe-Joe's window draws him into a series of (mis)-adventures which unsettle and bemuse.

Haweswater

Paperback, 05/06/2003, £8.99
£8.09
In a remote dale in a northern English county, a centuries-old rural community has survived into the mid-1930s almost unchanged. But then Jack Liggett drives in from the city, the spokesman for a Manchester waterworks company with designs on the landscape for a vast new reservoir.

Landing on the Sun

7, 03/07/2000, £7.99
£7.19
A civil servant in the Cabinet Office, Brian Jessel is asked to re-open the case of a predecessor who died in the 1970s, apparently by suicide. As he investigates the case he discovers what really happened - and the reader learns about Brian's own troubled life.

It Can't Go on

7, 08/05/2001, £6.99
£6.29
At just another drinks party that he very nearly chose not to go to, Jeremy catches sight of Maria and is instantly drawn by a frisson of sexual excitement. His rash and immediate reaction sets off an unstoppable chain of events that will divert the course of his life and those of many others.

Prodigal Summer

7, 04/06/2001, £8.99
£8.09
This work weaves together three stories of human love within a larger tapestry of lives inhabiting the mountains and small farms of southern Appalachia. It portrays various people who find their connections to one another, and to the flora and fauna with whom they share a place.

Inventing The Victorians

Paperback, 04/11/2002, £9.99
£8.99
Suppose that everything we think we know about 'The Victorians' is wrong? That we have persistently misrepresented the culture of the Victorian era, perhaps to make ourselves feel more satisfyingly liberal and sophisticated? What if they were much more fun than we ever suspected? This book provides the answers for us.

Midnight All Day

Paperback, 04/09/2000, £9.99
£8.99
In this collection of stories, Kureishi chronicles the loveless, the lost and the dispossessed. They represent the frustrated and intoxicating, the melancholic and sensitive, capable of great cruelty and willing to break constraints of an old life to make way for the new.

Life is Elsewhere

7, 04/09/2000, £8.99
£8.09
A budding poet and his adoring mother are the central characters of this early novel.

Sacrilege

Paperback, 16/08/2012, £8.99
£8.09
Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose, the third historical thriller featuring Giordano Bruno, heretic, philosopher and spy.

Annie Dunne

Paperback, 19/05/2003, £8.99
£8.09
Annie Dunne and her cousin Sarah live and work on a small farm in a remote and beautiful part of Wicklow in late 1950s Ireland. All about them the old green roads are being tarred, cars are being purchased, a way of life is about to disappear. Like two old rooks, they hold to their hill in Kelsha, cherishing everything.

Married Woman

Paperback, 19/02/2004, £7.99
£7.19
Astha has everything an educated, middle-class Delhi woman could ask for - a loving husband and affluent surroundings - and yet is consumed with a sense of dissatisfaction. She begins an extra-marital affair with a younger woman, the widow of a political activist and jeopardizes everything.

Life and Opinions of Maf the Dog and of his friend Marilyn Monroe

Paperback, 01/05/2010, £12.99
£11.69
In November 1960, Frank Sinatra gave Marilyn Monroe a dog. His name was Maf. He had an instinct for the twentieth century. For politics. For psychoanalysis. For literature. For interior decoration. This title presents his story.

Maf The Dog And His Friend Marilyn

Paperback, 30/06/2006, £7.99
£7.19
In November 1960, Frank Sinatra gave Marilyn Monroe a dog. His name was Maf. He had an instinct for the twentieth century. For politics. For psychoanalysis. For literature. For interior decoration. Maf the dog was with Marilyn for the last two years of her life.

Bring Up the Bodies

Hardback, 10/05/2012, £20.00
£12.00
Winner of the Man Booker Prize 2012

Bring Up the Bodies

Paperback, 07/05/2013, £9.99
£5.99
Winner of the Man Booker Prize 2012, the 2012 Costa Book of the Year and shortlisted for the 2013 Women's Prize for Fiction.

Black Mamba Boy

Paperback, 05/08/2010, £8.99
£8.09
Named as one of the GRANTA BEST OF YOUNG BRITISH NOVELISTS 2013. Longlisted for the Orange Prize and winner of the Betty Trask Award. For fans of Half of a Yellow Sun, a stunning novel set in 1930s Somalia spanning a decade of war and upheaval, all seen through the eyes of a small boy alone in the world.

Heresy

Paperback, 03/03/2011, £8.99
£8.09
A vivid and gripping historical thriller set in Elizabethan England introducing Giordano Bruno, philosopher, scientist and spy for all fans of C.J.Sansom and The Name of the Rose.

Peregrine

Paperback, 09/06/2011, £12.99
£7.79
Reissue of J. A. Baker's extraordinary classic of British nature writing

Play it as it Lays

Paperback, 10/11/2011, £8.99
£8.09
A ruthless and unflinching examination of American life in the late 1960s, from the author of The Year of Magical Thinking.

Aleph

Paperback, 08/03/2012, £9.99
£8.99
Another stunning novel by the author of The Alchemist.

Going Loco

Paperback, 27/05/2010, £7.99
£7.19
A wonderful comic novel from the bestselling author of 'Eats Shoots & Leaves'.

Tennyson's Gift

Paperback, 27/05/2010, £9.99
£8.99
From the bestselling author of 'Eats Shoots & Leaves', an unexpectedly moving, luminously wise and brilliantly funny novel about a Victorian Poet Laureate.

With One Lousy Free Packet of Seed

Paperback, 27/05/2010, £7.99
£7.19
Lynne Truss's first novel, in which she shows herself to be one of the very best comic writers.

1356

Paperback, 06/06/2013, £8.99
£6.99
Go with God and Fight Like the Devil. The remarkable new novel by Britain's master storyteller, which culminates at the Battle of Poitiers.

Blooding

Paperback, 15/01/2015, £9.99
£8.99
Hawkwood's in America for this gripping, action-packed follow up to the bestselling Ratcatcher - for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Igulden and Patrick O'Brian

Bones of the hills

Paperback, 08/07/2010, £8.99
£8.09
The third novel in the No. 1 bestselling Conqueror series, following the life and adventures of the mighty Genghis Khan and his descendants

 

 

Twitter
Secure Payments
 
 
Payment Method