close
Navigation
Categories
Canterbury Festival
  Canterbury Festival
CCCU Smartcards are GO!
In the Bookshop
Signed Books - Save 50%
  
Secure Payments
 
 
Payment Method
 
 

Juno Dawson

Bestselling novelist, screenwriter and journalist, Juno Dawson is the second of our two writers experiencing a short residency at Prospect Cottage. Juno reads and discusses her commissioned response to the residency as well as her writing in general.

Juno Dawson’s books include the global bestsellers, ‘This Book is Gay’ and ‘Clean.’ She won the 2020 YA Book Prize for ‘Meat Market’ and her first adult fantasy trilogy ‘Her Majesty’s Royal Coven’ has just been published.

Juno also writes for television and has multiple shows in development both in the UK and US. Her debut short film was ‘The Birth of Venus’ (BBC 2020) and she created the first official Doctor Who scripted podcast ‘Doctor Who: Redacted.’ An occasional actress and model, Juno had a cameo in the BBC’s ‘I May Destroy You’ (2020) and a recurring role in ‘Holby City.’ Juno lives in Brighton. She is a part of the queer cabaret collective known as ‘Club Silencio.’ In 2014, Juno became a School Role Model for the charity ‘Stonewall.’

“It's genuinely thrilling and hair-raising. Juno is a magician.”
-Russell T Davies on ‘Her Majesty’s Royal Coven’

“‘HMRC’ is such a joy to read – the world building is incredible, the writing sophisticated, and the exploration of gender and identity is done with nuance and care. Utterly compelling.”
-Louise O’Neill

View as
Sort by
Display per page

Mind Your Head

Paperback, 07/01/2016, £8.99
£7.00
Covering topics from anxiety and depression to addiction, self-harm and personality disorders, Juno and Olivia talk clearly and supportively about a range of issues facing young people's mental health - whether fleeting or long-term - and how to manage them.

Hollow Pike

Paperback, 06/09/2012, £7.99
£7.00
A gripping YA thriller from award-winning writer Juno Dawson, with a dash of romance and intriguing paranormal elements, set in Hollow Pike - a small town with a big history of witchcraft.

Cruel Summer

Paperback, 07/08/2014, £7.99
£7.00
A compelling psychological thriller with a dash of romance from award-winning writer Juno Dawson. Perfect for fans of Sue Wallman and E. Lockhart.

Gender Games: The Problem With Men and Women, From Someone Who Has Been Both

Paperback, 08/02/2018, £10.99
£9.89
Why we are all being messed up by gender, and what we can do about it

What is Gender? How Does It Define Us? And Other Big Questions for Kids

Paperback, 13/06/2019, £9.99
£7.00
A highly topical look at the concept of gender, encouraging children to think for themselves about the issues involved

What's the T?: The no-nonsense guide to all things trans and/or non-binary for teens

Paperback, 18/02/2021, £9.99
£7.00
A frank and funny exploration of all things transgender, from the author of This Book is Gay.

Doctor Who: The Good Doctor

Paperback, 10/10/2019, £8.99
£7.00
For a Good Doctor there's only one rule: first do no harm. On the planet of Lobos, the Doctor halts a violent war between the native Loba and human colonists.

Meat Market: The London Collection

Paperback, 23/05/2019, £7.99
£7.00
Fall into the lives of the city's filthy rich with Juno Dawson's deliciously dark and intoxicating London Collection. Jana Novak's history sounds like a classic model cliche: tall and gangly, she's uncomfortable with her androgynous looks until she's unexpectedly scouted and catapulted to superstardom...

Wonderland

Paperback, 28/05/2020, £7.99
£7.00
What happens when you fall down the rabbit hole? The compulsive must-have follow-up to CLEAN and MEAT MARKET from bestselling, award-winning author Juno Dawson -- Books Council of Wales

Stay Another Day

Paperback, 14/10/2021, £7.99
£7.00
Sometimes at Christmas, you don't get what you want, you get what you need... Family secrets, chance encounters and festive traditions collide in this juicy Christmas treat from Juno Dawson.

Her Majesty's Royal Coven

Hardback, 21/07/2022, £14.99
£11.00
THE #1 SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER The first in a supernatural new series from the author of Wonderland, Her Majesty's Royal Coven follows a top-secret government department of witches and the deadly threat to the nationt they must confront.

You Need to Chill

Paperback, 01/09/2022, £7.99
£7.00
The sparklingly funny debut picture book from Juno Dawson, bestselling writer and activist.

Clean: The London Collection

Paperback, 05/04/2018, £7.99
£7.00
Fall into the lives of the city's filthy rich with Juno Dawson's deliciously dark and intoxicating London Collection. It's a dirty business getting clean ... Addiction and redemption, love and despair. Clean is Gossip Girl meets Girl, Interrupted, and it will have you hooked from the first page.

Margot and Me

Paperback, 26/01/2017, £7.99
£7.00
How can you hate someone in the present and love them in the past?Fliss's mum needs peace and quiet to recuperate from a long illness, so they both move to the countryside to live with Margot, Fliss's stern and bullying grandmother.

This Book is Gay

Paperback, 04/09/2014, £9.99
£7.00
Including testimonials from people across the gender and sexual spectrums, this book explores everything anyone who ever dared to wonder wants to know - from sex to politics, how to pull, stereotypes, how to come-out and more.

All of the Above

Paperback, 03/09/2015, £8.99
£7.00
When sixteen-year-old Toria Bland arrives at her new school she needs to work out who her friends are, all in a crazy whirl of worry, exam pressure and anxiety over fitting in. Things start looking up when Toria meets the funny and foul-mouthed Polly, who's the coolest girl Toria has ever seen.

Say Her Name

Paperback, 05/06/2014, £7.99
£7.00
Roberta 'Bobbie' Rowe is not the kind of person who believes in ghosts. A Halloween dare at her ridiculously spooky boarding school is no big deal, especially when her best friend Naya and cute local boy Caine agree to join in too. They are ordered to summon the legendary ghost of 'Bloody Mary'. But, surprise surprise, nothing happens. Or does it?

 

Twitter