close
Navigation
Categories

Arts & Humanities

View as
Sort by
Display per page

Exorcist

Paperback, 01/10/2011, £8.99
Father Damien Karras: 'Where is Regan?' Regan MacNeil: 'In here. This edition, polished and expanded by the author, includes new dialogue, a new character and a chilling new extended scene, provides an unforgettable reading experience that has lost none of its power to shock and continues to thrill and terrify new readers.

Moonrise

Hardback, 01/09/2017, £12.99

Such Small Hands

Paperback, 01/03/2018, £8.99

Experiencing Architecture

Paperback, 01/01/1962, £25.00
A classic examination of superb design through the centuries.

Constructive Theology

Paperback, 25/01/2005, £32.99
- Concentrated on key loci: God, Christ, sin and evil, Christian community, eschatology- Lively text with ample treatment of special historical and theological topics- Helpful pedagogical tools on the CD-ROM

We'll Meet Again

Paperback, 02/02/2004, £9.99
The haunting thriller from international bestselling author of DADDY'S LITTLE GIRL

Behaviour Change Wheel

Paperback, 31/05/2014, £18.99

Battle of the Beetles

Paperback, 01/02/2018, £6.99
The beetle adventure continues as Darkus and his friends seek wicked Lucretia Cutter's secret Biome in the Amazon rainforest. If they can't stop her from unleashing her hoard of giant

Ladybird Book Of The Hangover: Ladybird Books for Grown-ups 9

Hardback, 29/10/2015, £7.99
Helps grown-ups with the world about them. With large clear script, the careful choice of words, the frequent repetition and the thoughtful matching of text with pictures all enable, this title enables grown-ups to think they have taught themselves to cope.

How It Works The Husband: Ladybird Books for Grown-ups 16

Hardback, 29/10/2015, £7.99
Helps grown-ups with the world about them. With large clear script, the careful choice of words, the frequent repetition and the thoughtful matching of text with pictures all enable, this title enables grown-ups to think they have taught themselves to cope.

Ladybird Book Of The Hipster: Ladybird Books for Grown-ups 15

Hardback, 29/10/2015, £7.99
Helps grown-ups with the world about them. With large clear script, the careful choice of words, the frequent repetition and the thoughtful matching of text with pictures all enable, this title enables grown-ups to think they have taught themselves to cope.

Ladybird Book of Red Tape

Hardback, 20/10/2016, £6.99

Ladybird Book of the Sickie

Hardback, 20/10/2016, £6.99

Wit and Wisdom of the Wife

Hardback, 05/10/2017, £6.99

Discursive Psychology: Theory, Method and Applications

Paperback, 08/11/2016, £29.99
A much-needed, hands-on guide to applying discursive theory - an increasingly popular yet complex approach to research in psychology.

City of Circles

Hardback, 08/08/2017, £17.99
A magical love story between two circus performers, for fans of Angela Carter and Erin Morgenstern by Costa-shortlisted author Jess Richards.

Room by the Lake

Hardback, 10/08/2017, £14.99
Sophisticated thriller about a young woman drawn in by a cult.

Way We Live Now

Paperback, 05/06/1995, £2.50
The author paints a picture as panoramic as his title promises, of the life of 1870s London, the loves of those drawn to and through the city, and the career of Augustus Melmotte.

Superman: Man of Steel

Paperback, 18/04/2013, £5.99
Superman was created by Jerry Siegel and Joe Schuster in 1938. For fans of the ultimate Super Hero, this kit includes a Superman figurine, pin of the famed "S" symbol in gunmetal and silver, and 48-page book on Superman featuring full-color illustrations.

Four Gothic Novels: The Castle of Otranto; Vathek; The Monk; Frankenstein

Paperback, 07/07/1994, £9.99
Each of these four Gothic stories reveals a psychological tale of isolation and monomania. H. Walpole's 'The Castle of Otranto' is filled with terror and ghostly interventions. William Beckford's 'Vathek' alternates grotesque comedy with scenes of exotic magnificence. 'The Monk', by Matthew Lewis and M. Shelley's 'Frankenstein' are also included.

Seagull (Trans Frayn)

Paperback, 25/04/2002, £10.99
Two years after its disastrous opening in 1896, "The Seagull" was successfully revived at the Moscow Art Theatre. Checkhov's self-mocking description of the play was: "A comedy - 3F, 6M, four acts, rural scenery (a view over a lake); much talk of literature, little action, five bushels of love".

Simultaneous Learning

Paperback, 30/08/2014, £5.99
SHORTLISTED FOR THE BEST PRINT RESOURCE AWARD AT THE 2015 MUSIC TEACHER AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE Paul Harris's highly successful Simultaneous Learning approach is an entirely positive and imaginative way to teach, which embraces the understanding that all the elements of music are connected.

Lorna Doone

Paperback, 05/11/1993, £2.50
An historical novel of high adventure set in the South West of England during the turbulent time of Monmouth's rebellion (1685). It is also a love story told through the life of the young farmer John Ridd, as he grows to manhood determined to right the wrongs in his land, and to win the heart and hand of the beautiful Lorna Doone.

Em and the Big Hoom

Paperback, 29/01/2015, £8.99
In a tiny flat in Bombay Imelda Mendes - Em to her family - is by turns flamboyant, maniacally affectionate and cruelly candid. Her husband - Augustine, the 'Big Hoom' - and two children must endure her 'microweathers': swings from searing joy to brooding malevolence. And here is the story of how this family of four came to be.

Nothing

Hardback, 04/05/2017, £14.99
Waldo, a feted filmmaker, is confined by old age and ill health to his London apartment. Frail and frustrated, he is cared for by his lovely younger wife, Zee. But when he suspects that Zee is beginning an affair with Eddie, Waldo is pressed to action: determined to expose the couple, he sets himself first to prove his suspicions correct and more.

Gulliver's Travels

Paperback, 26/04/2012, £5.99
Lemuel Gulliver shipwrecked and adrift, subject to bizarre and unnerving encounters with, among others, quarrelling Lilliputians, philosophizing horses and the brutish Yahoo tribe, that change his view of humanity - and himself - for ever.

Peerless Flats

Paperback, 02/06/2008, £9.99
Sixteen-year-old Lisa has high hopes for her first year in London. But she is squeezed into a flat with her bohemian mother and a little brother obsessed with foxes. Lisa trails through the city, dabbling with drugs and romance, and refusing to lose faith in her belief that something fantastic will happen to mark the rest of her life.

Dictator

Paperback, 02/06/2016, £8.99
There was a time when Cicero held Caesar's life in the palm of his hand. But now Caesar is the dominant figure and Cicero's life is in ruins. Cicero's comeback requires wit, skill and courage. And for a brief and glorious period, the legendary orator is once more the supreme senator in Rome. But politics is never static.

Cascasian Chalk Circle

Paperback, 12/07/1984, £10.99
This edition of Brecht's classic parable play contains expert notes on the author's life and work, historical and political background to the play, photographs from stage productions and a glossary of difficult words and phrases.

Hitman Anders and the Meaning of it All

Paperback, 21/04/2016, £8.99
A madcap new novel from the one-of-a-kind author of The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden

Crooked Heart

Paperback, 31/12/2015, £7.99
When Noel Bostock - aged ten, no family - is evacuated from London to escape the Blitz, he winds up in St Albans with Vera Sedge - thirty-six, drowning in debts. Always desperate for money, she's unscrupulous about how she gets it. The war's thrown up all manner of new opportunities but what Vee needs is a cool head and the ability to make a plan.

Jane Austen, the Secret Radical

Hardback, 03/11/2016, £20.00
An iconoclastic re-evaluation of one English Literature's most celebrated novelists.

Eureka Street

7, 16/06/1997, £9.99
Tells the story of Belfast in the 1990s, six months before and after another ceasefire. This book features Chuckie Lurgan, fat, Protestant and poor, who suddenly becomes wealthy by various legal but immoral means; and of Jake Jackson, Catholic reformed tough guy, who has been abandoned by his English girlfriend and is looking for love.

Truecrime

Paperback, 21/06/2004, £8.99
New decade. New rules for survival. Jake Arnott's blistering look at the underbelly of life in the 90s is a sure-fire bestseller.

Vanishing

Paperback, 09/04/2015, £8.99
A new, blackly comic novel of camouflage and mystery from the Man Booker Prize shortlisted Gerard Woodward

Community music therapy

Paperback, 20/05/2004, £24.99
Music therapists from around the world working in conventional and unconventional settings have offered their contributions to this exciting new book, presenting discussion and practical examples of the ways music therapy can reflect and encourage social change. The writers offer fresh perceptions on their identity and role as music therapists.

But Enough About Me

Paperback, 02/06/2016, £8.99

Heart of Darkness; advanced notes

Paperback, 06/04/2004, £7.99
The most supportive, easy-to-use and focussed literature guides to help your students understand the texts they are studying at GCSE and A Level

Inhale/Exhale

Paperback, 01/01/1999, £9.95

Inside and out: New York

Paperback, 01/09/2014, £12.99
Discover New York's secret life in this 2-metre-wide diorama.

Rising: Ireland: Easter 1916

Hardback, 21/01/2016, £20.00
The story of the Easter Rising from the perspective of those who made it, focusing on the experiences of rank-and-file revolutionaries and exploiting a unique and recently released collection of over 1,700 eye-witness statements.

Desktop Rugby

Paperback, 13/10/2016, £5.99
Desktop Rugby brings the excitement of rugby right to your fingertips. Included is everything you need to play the game--a goal, ball, tee, flag, and mini referee figurine to call that foul. Kit also includes a 32-page book on the history and rules of the game.

Nothing but Grass

Paperback, 09/06/2016, £8.99
In the summer of 1875, two travellers walk south across the Lincolnshire Wolds to a village riven with dark secrets. When Norman Tanner kills his workmate on a cold February morning a century later, he thinks he's got away with murder. But Norman doesn't know about the workmate's girlfriend, or the child that will come back to haunt him...

Childhood of Jesus

Paperback, 02/01/2014, £8.99
After crossing oceans, a man and a boy - both strangers to each other - arrive in a new land. David, the boy, has lost his mother and Simon vows to look after him. In this strange new country they are assigned a new name, a new birthday, a new life.

Bookshop That Floated Away

Paperback, 03/04/2014, £7.99
The story of an extraordinary bookshop... and everything its owner did to keep it afloat.

Road to Little Dribbling

Paperback, 07/04/2016, £9.99
Marking the twentieth anniversary of Notes from a Small Island, the author makes a brand-new journey round Britain to see what has changed. He gives us an acute and perceptive insight into all that is best and worst about Britain.
Twitter
Secure Payments
 
 
Payment Method