close
Navigation
Categories
Canterbury Festival
  Canterbury Festival
CCCU Smartcards are GO!
In the Bookshop
Signed Books - Save 50%
  
Secure Payments
 
 
Payment Method
 
 

The Secret Diaries of Charles Ignatius Sancho: Based on a true story, the utterly gripping and heartbreaking historical novel from the star of Vigil

Author: Joseph, Paterson
Binding: Hardback
Pages: 352
Pub Date: 06/10/2022
Publisher: ABACUS
ISBN: 9780349702391
Availability: In Stock
Price-Match is available in-store for recommended titles in CCCU module handbooks
Quick overview Meet Charles Ignatius Sancho: his extraordinary story, hidden for three hundred years, is about to be told by Paterson Joseph, one of Britain's best-loved actors
£16.99
£15.29
Product description

'An absolutely thrilling, throat-catching wonder of a historical novel. I read with alternating fascination, dread, hilarity, admiration, sorrow and triumph for a full life rendered with such animation, brilliance and understanding. Told in wonderful prose and with dazzling energy and brilliant panache. Hugely recommended.' Stephen Fry

Meet Charles Ignatius Sancho: his extraordinary story, hidden for three hundred years, is about to be told.

I had little right to live, born on a slave ship where my parents both died. But I survived, and indeed, you might say I did more...

It's 1746 and Georgian London is not a safe place for a young Black man, especially one who has escaped slavery. After the twinkling lights in the Fleet Street coffee shops are blown out and the great houses have closed their doors for the night, Sancho must dodge slave catchers and worse. The man he hoped would help - a kindly duke who taught him to write - is dying. Sancho is desperate and utterly alone.

So how does Charles Ignatius Sancho meet the King, write and play highly acclaimed music, become the first Black person to vote in Britain and lead the fight to end slavery?

It's time for him to tell his story, one that begins on a tempestuous Atlantic Ocean, and ends at the very centre of London life. And through it all, he must ask: born amongst death, how much can you achieve in one short life?

From one of Britain's best-loved actors, Paterson Joseph, comes an utterly captivating and haunting historical novel, telling the true story of a Great Black Briton. Fans of Bridgerton, Hamilton, Jessie Burton and The Confessions of Frannie Langton will adore being led into the heart of Black Georgian London.

Additional information