close
Navigation
Categories
BBC National Short Story Award 2021
  BBC National Short Story Award 2021
Signed Books - Save 50%
  
Secure Payments
 
 
Payment Method
 
 

Soft in the Head

Author: ROGER, MARIE-SABINE
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 224
Pub Date: 09/06/2016
Publisher: PUSHKIN PRESS
ISBN: 9781782271581
Availability: Available for delivery in 48 hours
Price-Match is available in-store for recommended titles in CCCU module handbooks
Quick overview "First published in French as La Taete en friche in 2008."
£8.99
£8.09
Product description

An international bestseller, Marie Sabine-Roger's heartwarming novel is a touching and comic tale about the power of books. For fans of The Uncommon Reader and The President's Hat. 'Brilliant, uplifting' Le Messager 'Unique. The sort of book that makes you want to hug the author to thank them for the happiness they have given you' Focus Vif His mother called him a worthless halfwit while his fellow drunks at the local bar ensure he's the butt of all their jokes. He spends his days whittling wood, counting pigeons and adding his own name to the bottom of the list on the town war memorial. So how could Germain possibly understand what a casual encounter on a park bench with eighty-five year old Margueritte could mean? In this touchingly comic tale of an unusual friendship, that first conversation opens a door into a world Germain could never have imagined-the world of books and ideas-and gives both him and Margueritte a chance at a happiness they thought had passed them by.

Additional information