close
Navigation
Categories
Canterbury Festival
  Canterbury Festival
CCCU Smartcards are GO!
In the Bookshop
Signed Books - Save 50%
  
Secure Payments
 
 
Payment Method
 
 

Parallel Hells

Author: Craig, Leon
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 224
Pub Date: 13/10/2022
Publisher: HODDER & STOUGHTON
ISBN: 9781529371444
Availability: In Stock
Price-Match is available in-store for recommended titles in CCCU module handbooks
Quick overview For fans of Daisy Johnson and Kirsty Logan, a gothic short story collection for winter nights from an emerging voice in British literary fiction
£9.99
£8.99
Product description

In this deliciously strange debut collection, Leon Craig draws on folklore and gothic horror in refreshingly inventive ways to explore queer identity, love, power and the complicated nature of being human.

Some say that hell is other people and some say hell is loneliness . . .

In the thirteen darkly audacious stories of Parallel Hells we meet a golem, made of clay, learning that its powers far exceed its Creator's expectations; a ruined mansion which grants the secret wishes of a group of revellers and a notorious murderer who discovers her Viking husband is not what he seems.

Asta is an ancient being who feasts on the shame of contemporary Londoners, who now, beyond anything, wishes only to fit in with a group of friends they will long outlive. An Oxford historian, in bitter competition with the rest of her faculty members, discovers an ancient tome whose sinister contents might solve her problems. Livia orchestrates a Satanic mass to distract herself from a recently remembered trauma and two lovers must resolve their differences in order to defy a lethal curse.

Additional information