close
Navigation
Categories
Signed Books - Save 50%
  
CCCU Smartcards are GO!
In the Bookshop
Secure Payments
 
 
Payment Method
 
 

Once and Future Witches: The spellbinding bestseller

Author: Harrow, Alix E.
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 560
Pub Date: 07/10/2021
Publisher: MACDONALD & CO.
ISBN: 9780356512501
Availability: Available for delivery in 48 hours
Price-Match is available in-store for recommended titles in CCCU module handbooks
Quick overview From the author of The Ten Thousand Doors of January comes this lush, magical work of speculative fiction that will appeal to fans of The Night Circus, The Power and The Binding.
£8.99
£8.09
Product description

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

'Glorious . . . a tale that will sweep you away' Yangsze Choo, New York Times bestselling author of The Night Tiger

'A gorgeous and thrilling paean to the ferocious power of women' Laini Taylor, New York Times bestselling author of Strange the Dreamer

In 1893, there's no such thing as witches. There used to be, in the wild, dark days before the burnings began, but now witching is nothing but tidy charms and nursery rhymes. If the modern woman wants any measure of power, she must find it at the ballot box.

But when the three Eastwood sisters join the suffragists of New Salem, they begin to pursue the forgotten ways that might turn the women's movement into the witch's movement. Stalked by shadows and sickness, hunted by forces who will not suffer a witch to vote - and perhaps not even to live - the sisters must delve into the oldest magics, draw new alliances, and heal the bond between them if they want to survive.

There's no such thing as witches. But there will be.

Praise for The Once and Future Witches:

'A brilliant dazzle of a book . . . I devoured it in enormous gulps, and utterly loved it' Kat Howard, author of The Unkindness of Ghosts

'Compelling, exhilarating and magical - a must-read' Booklist (starred review)

'Delightful . . . a tale of women's battle for equality, of fairy tales twisted into wonderfully witchy spells, of magics both large and small, and history re-imagined' Louisa Morgan, author of A Secret History of Witches

'A love letter to folklore and the rebellious women of history' Publishers Weekly

'A breathtaking book - brilliant and raw and dark and complicated' Sarah Gailey, author of Magic for Liars

Additional information