close
Navigation
Categories
BBC National Short Story Award 2021
  BBC National Short Story Award 2021
Signed Books - Save 50%
  
Secure Payments
 
 
Payment Method
 
 

Most Precious of Cargoes

Author: Grumberg, Jean-Claude
Binding: Hardback
Pages: 112
Pub Date: 21/01/2021
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781529019568
Availability: In Stock
Price-Match is available in-store for recommended titles in CCCU module handbooks
Quick overview For readers of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and The Book Thief, Jean-Claude Grumberg's haunting fable, an enormous bestseller in his native France, tells a story of the Holocaust and the remarkable acts of kindness of which people are capable.
£12.99
£11.69
Product description

'A magnificent small book to read urgently' Liberation

Once upon a time in an enormous forest, there lived a poor woodcutter and his wife. Around them a war wages, and hunger is a constant companion. Yet every night, the woodcutter's wife prays for a child.

A Jewish father rides on a train holding twin babies. His wife no longer has enough milk to feed both children. In hopes of saving them both, he wraps his daughter in a shawl and throws her into the forest.

While foraging for food, the woodcutter's wife finds a bundle, a baby girl wrapped in a shawl. She knows that this little girl will be hunted, but she cannot ignore this gift: she will accept the precious cargo, and raise her as her own.

Set against the horrors of the Holocaust and told with a fairytale-like lyricism, The Most Precious of Cargoes is a fable about family and redemption which reminds us that humanity can be found in the most inhumane of places.

Additional information