close
Navigation
Categories

 

Lesson Before Dying

Author: GAINES ERNEST J
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 272
Pub Date: 04/06/2015
Publisher: Profile Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781846687860
Availability: In stock
Price-Match is available in-store only for recommended titles in CCCU module handbooks
Quick overview A novel of prejudice, community and what it means to be a man in the American South. It explores the deep prejudice of the American South in the tradition of Harper Lee's "To Kill A Mockingbird" and Toni Morrison's "Beloved". It is the story of a young black man sentenced to death for a murder he did not commit.
£9.99
£8.99
Product description

An Oprah Book Club selection Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award for Fiction Nominated for a Pulitzer Prize In a small Cajun community in the late 1940s, a young black man named Jefferson witnesses a liquor store shootout in which three men are killed. The only survivor, he is convicted of murder and sentenced to death. Gaines explores the deep prejudice of the American South in the tradition of Harper Lee's To Kill A Mockingbird and Toni Morrison's Beloved. A Lesson Before Dying is a richly compassionate and deeply moving novel, the story of a young black man sentenced to death for a murder he did not commit, and a teacher who hopes to ease his burden before the execution.

Additional information