close
Navigation
Categories

How Fiction Works

Author: WOOD, JAMES
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 208
Pub Date: 05/02/2009
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
ISBN: 9781845950934
Availability: In stock
Price-Match is available in-store only for recommended titles in CCCU module handbooks
Tutor: Peggy Riley
Tutor: Sonia Overall
Department: School of Humanities
Department: School of Humanties
Quick overview A study of the main elements of fiction, such as narrative, detail, characterization, dialogue, realism, and style. It takes the machinery of story-telling apart to ask a series of fundamental questions: What do we mean when we say we 'know' a fictional character? What constitutes a 'telling' detail? And, when is a metaphor successful?
£9.99
Product description

In the tradition of E. M. Forster's Aspects of the Novel and Milan Kundera's The Art of the Novel, How Fiction Works is a scintillating and searching study of the main elements of fiction, such as narrative, detail, characterization, dialogue, realism, and style. In his first full-length book of criticism, one of the most prominent critics of our time takes the machinery of story-telling apart to ask a series of fundamental questions: What do we mean when we say we 'know' a fictional character? What constitutes a 'telling' detail? When is a metaphor successful? Is realism realistic? Why do most endings of novels disappoint? Wood ranges widely, from Homer to Beatrix Potter, from the Bible to John Le Carre, and his book is both a study of the techniques of fiction-making and an alternative history of the novel. Playful and profound, it incisively sums up two decades of bold, often controversial, and now classic critical work, and will be enlightening to writers, readers, and anyone interested in what happens on the page.

Additional information