All Categories
    Filters
    Preferences
    Search

    How Fiction Works

    £9.89
    £10.99
    Price-Match is available in-store for recommended titles in CCCU module handbooks
    ISBN: 9781845950934
    Products specifications
    Attribute nameAttribute value
    AuthorWOOD, JAMES
    Pub Date05/02/2009
    BindingPaperback
    Pages208
    Publisher: Vintage Publishing
    Ship to
    *
    *
    Shipping Method
    Name
    Estimated Delivery
    Price
    No shipping options
    Availability: In stock
    Products specifications
    Attribute nameAttribute value
    TutorPeggy Riley, Sonia Overall
    DepartmentSchool of Humanities, School of Humanties
    A study of the main elements of fiction, such as narrative, detail, characterization, dialogue, realism, and style. It takes the machinery of story-telling apart to ask a series of fundamental questions: What do we mean when we say we 'know' a fictional character? What constitutes a 'telling' detail? And, when is a metaphor successful?

    In the tradition of E. M. Forster's Aspects of the Novel and Milan Kundera's The Art of the Novel, How Fiction Works is a scintillating and searching study of the main elements of fiction, such as narrative, detail, characterization, dialogue, realism, and style. In his first full-length book of criticism, one of the most prominent critics of our time takes the machinery of story-telling apart to ask a series of fundamental questions: What do we mean when we say we 'know' a fictional character? What constitutes a 'telling' detail? When is a metaphor successful? Is realism realistic? Why do most endings of novels disappoint? Wood ranges widely, from Homer to Beatrix Potter, from the Bible to John Le Carre, and his book is both a study of the techniques of fiction-making and an alternative history of the novel. Playful and profound, it incisively sums up two decades of bold, often controversial, and now classic critical work, and will be enlightening to writers, readers, and anyone interested in what happens on the page.