All Categories
    Filters
    Preferences
    Search

    Dover Cafe At War

    £8.09
    £8.99
    Price-Match is available in-store for recommended titles in CCCU module handbooks
    ISBN: 9781838771430
    Products specifications
    Attribute nameAttribute value
    AuthorGINNY BELL
    Pub Date17/09/2020
    BindingPaperback
    Pages544
    Publisher: ZAFFRE
    Ship to
    *
    *
    Shipping Method
    Name
    Estimated Delivery
    Price
    No shipping options
    Availability: In stock
    - - - - - Readers love The Dover Cafe at War: 'A brilliant evocation of a family and community pulling together in wartime.

    'Brilliantly written . . . I loved it.' Rosie Goodwin

    The first book in a brand-new World War II saga series. Perfect for readers of Ellie Dean, Annie Groves and for fans of the Home Fires series.

    Dover, 1939

    At the heart of Market Square lies Castle's Cafe, run by the formidable Nellie Castle and her six children.

    Since the scandalous birth of her son ten years ago, Marianne, Nellie's eldest daughter, has preferred to stay in the kitchen, hidden away from the scrutiny of the town gossips. Overcome with shame, she has never revealed the identity of Donny's father - not even to her own mother.

    But with World War II just around the corner, soon Marianne's past catches up with her. And suddenly the lives of the Castle family become a lot more complicated.

    Will the secrets from her past destroy their future?

    Don't miss the next exciting instalment in the Dover Cafe Series, The Dover Cafe on the Front Line. Available in ebook now and paperback September 2021. And the third book, The Dover Cafe Under Fire is available to pre-order now.

    - - - - -

    Readers love The Dover Cafe at War:

    'A brilliant evocation of a family and community pulling together in wartime. Full of drama, laughter, and nail biting cliff hangers. A triumph!' Annie Clarke, author of The Factory Girls series

    'Well-researched and expertly written . . . Perfect for those days when all you want is a book to lose yourself in.' Fiona Ford, author of The Liberty Girls


    'A joyous read, the sort of book to read in one sitting.' Kitty Danton, author of A Wartime Christmas


    'A rattling good novel that gives the reader a front seat at the Dover cafe during World War 2 . . . a really good start to what looks to be a fascinating saga.' Shirley Mann, author of Lily's War

    'Brilliantly researched, written with warmth and insight, brimming with emotion and drama, and starring a cast of superbly drawn characters who are guaranteed to touch the hearts of readers everywhere.' Lancashire Post

    'What a brilliant book . . . can't wait to read the next one.' Netgalley reviewer

    'This book is such a joy to read.' Netgalley reviewer

    'This was a wonderful read. Looking forward to the next in the series.' Netgalley reviewer