All Categories
    Filters
    Preferences
    Search

    Burning

    £6.00
    £8.99
    Price-Match is available in-store for recommended titles in CCCU module handbooks
    ISBN: 9781471170201
    Products specifications
    Attribute nameAttribute value
    AuthorBates, Laura
    Pub Date21/02/2019
    BindingPaperback
    Pages352
    Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
    Ship to
    *
    *
    Shipping Method
    Name
    Estimated Delivery
    Price
    No shipping options
    Availability: Available for despatch from the bookshop in 48 hours
    The compelling YA debut from Laura Bates, founder of The Everyday Sexism Project, bestselling author of Girl Up and leading voice for women's rights

    'The Burning lights a fire in you - one that makes you want to fight for change and ignite sparks in others so the fire spreads and spreads.' - HOLLY BOURNE

    A rumour is like a fire. You might think you've extinguished it but one creeping, red tendril, one single wisp of smoke is enough to let it leap back into life again. Especially if someone is watching, waiting to fan the flames ...

    New school.
    Tick.
    New town.
    Tick.
    New surname.
    Tick.
    Social media profiles?
    Erased.

    There's nothing to trace Anna back to her old life. Nothing to link her to the 'incident'.

    At least that's what she thinks ... until the whispers start up again. As time begins to run out on her secrets, Anna finds herself irresistibly drawn to the tale of Maggie, a local girl accused of witchcraft centuries earlier. A girl whose story has terrifying parallels to Anna's own...

    The compelling YA debut from Laura Bates, founder of the Everyday Sexism Project and bestselling author of Girl Up.

    PRAISE FOR THE BURNING:
    'This is a book teen girls NEED to read' - Holly Bourne
    'Bold, brutal & hugely important' - Abi Elphinstone
    'Defiant and inspiring' - Katherine Webber
    'Brilliant' - Stylist
    'Essential reading for fans of Holly Bourne and Louise O'Neill' - The Observer

    PRAISE FOR GIRL UP:
    'A bracing love letter to today's teenage girls' - Sunday Times
    'Essential reading for young women and girls' - Morning Star Online
    'This no-nonsense guide to being a girl in 2016 is one all teen girls should read' - Red magazine
    'If you have a daughter or a niece or a younger sister or a goddaughter, buy it for them now' --The Pool

    PRAISE FOR EVERYDAY SEXISM:
    'This is an important book' -Independent
    'A potent reminder of how far feminism has come and how far it has to go' - Kirkus Reviews
    'A game-changing book, a must-read for every woman' -Cosmopolitan
    'Funny and clever' - Telegraph