Awakening and Selected Stories (with intro by Stefania Ciocia)

Author: Chopin, Kate (ed Stefania Ciocia)
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 544
Pub Date: 10/09/2015
ISBN: 9781840225846
Availability: In stock
Price-Match is available in-store only for recommended titles in CCCU module handbooks
Tutor: Stefania Ciocia
Department: School of Humanities
Quick overview Widely censured at the time of its publication in 1899, Kate Chopin's The Awakening is an evocative story of self-discovery and female emancipation that has since become one of the most popular classics in the American canon.
Product description

This is the first paperback edition to bring out in one volume Kate Chopin's extraordinary novel The Awakening (1899), along with the complete text of her two collections of short stories, Bayou Folk (1894) and A Night in Acadie (1897), and twelve uncollected tales. The Awakening is a strikingly modern, evocative story of self-discovery and female emancipation, set in the sensuous environment of Southern Louisiana, where the young Edna Pontellier reclaims her own individuality, refusing to be defined by her roles of wife and mother. Chopin's stories are brilliantly observed, compassionate and often humorous, alert to the foibles, weaknesses and small triumphs of her characters. Overshadowed by the relatively recent fame of The Awakening, they contain some of the best work of this remarkably original author.

Additional information